MY HARDWORKING CREW GETS THE JOB DONE

in #family7 years ago

Some days I need more help that others!


This has been an incredible experience, and I am so blessed to see the character of my @little-peppers develop. We have been trying to train them up and encourage them in the right ways, and we are thankfully getting some return on that investment. Recently, I decided to help out some neighbors by doing a bit of a remodel on a nearby building. As often is the case, the @little-peppers were eager to help!

HARD DAY OF WORK VLOG

THE REST OF THE STORY

For those of you who don't watch videos or who want more, here it is! The carpet inside this building had become very worn and old. We knew that it would need to be replaced eventually, and I thought that it would be a good project for me and some of the @little-peppers. Since we plan on building our own house soon, it'll be good practice for all of us to do get more familiar with stuff like this.

Back when I used to lay flooring, we had to tear out some engineered flooring and put in a different floor. Since there wasn't really anything wrong with the flooring, my boss at the time suggested that we save it. We knew that it would be enough material to cover the building where we are now installing it, so we tucked it away until the opportunity arose.

Recently, Monster Truck the Pepper helped me prep the place and do some of the minor work. I was very impressed with how hard that little four year old worked and how much he helped me. Now, we had a clean slate to start with for laying the flooring. It was time to begin!

Like usual, the @little-peppers began to do what they could, carefully carrying in some of the boards for the floor. Once inside, they began to organize them. Since this floor had already been used once, we had some starters and finishers, which are the end pieces. They were able to not only sort my length, but by which end was cut off too, for the cut boards.

For larger bundles of boards, my three oldest @little-peppers worked as a team to get the job done. They came up with this idea on their own, and even smiled about how much work they could do by working together that they would have never been able to accomplish on their own. As a papa, I love moments like that!

Rather than measuring the length of the room like I normally would, I laid out a row of the boards to help give the children a visual on how many rows we would be putting in. We also checked to make sure that the last board wouldn't be too small. Once we were happy with the way things were going to go, we got started.

Often I've seen frustrated parents screaming at their only child in stores or other places. While I certainly understand the temptation to lose my cool, I like situations like this. When you have five children ages seven and under, you have a lot of incentive to train them properly and to work on your patience. As I have often said, "We don't have a lot of experience, just a lot of incentive." By teaching myself how to work with such a little crew and teaching them how to work together and follow instructions, we are setting ourselves up for success. The probability that you'll find @papa-pepper yelling at his children in public is very low.

I'm not sure if you can see that smile, but these children enjoy learning and helping out. We actually had children focusing on their regular schoolwork and getting some of it done early due to their increased efforts just so that they would be free to help. How cool is that?

We had to break for lunch, but the job is nearing completion. Do those look like the faces of children who just got done working? While it may be slow going at first to take the time to teach the @little-peppers how to work, in the end it speeds up the whole process. Not only that, we we get to enjoy the company of one another too and build our relationships! That, to me, is priceless!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-little-helpers



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Simply amazing!!! My best Wild Man @papa-pepper with his whole clan ...great team always get things done. I wish you all a blessed holiday season...I mentioned you on my latest post, feel free to see it. Bless you all.

Amazingly, smaller, nimbler hands and younger eyes are pretty good at such things!

You're raising a good crew!

We're working on it. Thanks man!

Fabulous work. And very adorable work crew. :)

Great jon @papa-pepper blessing for you and the kids ♥

Children's are so beautiful and they work hard. very good.

Nice job done, thank you for sharing!

You have a beautiful family and I think you are very proud of your children

Lets see you have 5 in the "crew" good for a basketball or hockey team. lol

Yep, a few more years till I get a football team though.

It is easier to go down to their level of understanding than to bring them up to ours.
Well done @papa-pepper!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38