Let's Talk About Gifts: What Really Makes A Valuable & Appreciated Gift? Spoiler Alert: Don't Spend Money... Spend Something Else...

in #family7 years ago

Shhhh.... can you keep a secret? The comedy of opening an open internet post in this manner is not lost on me, but it's got you reading, right?

6360284906839051061304297219_intro.jpg
theodysseyonline.com

So my wife's birthday is under two months away and the one thoughtful gift that I'd already purchased for her kinda already has made it into her possession. Normally we "play by the rules" in that regards with presents only able to be opened on the actual birthday but given her recent health issues, we figured that delayed gratification was something that didn't suit us at this point in time.

The best gifts are those that convey thought. I would also say that the better gifts necessarily don't cost much. Money is easily thrown around and, in my experience, acts to cheapen the gift in reality. An expensive gift that was easily obtained can act to convey the opposite message to what you'd expect. An over-compensation.

If you necessarily limit the money and instead focus on the effort, you'll end up with a much more meaningful message and a gift that's likely to be remembered for far longer than something with a big receipt. My putting effort into a gift, you communicate that you listen, that when the gift's recipient speaks, they're listened to. I'll give you an example...

OK, so here's the secret.

So my better half is a big fan of Hercule Poirot, the Agatha Christie character played best by English actor David Suchet.

Poirot-676x380.jpg
thedwsblog.com

Now my wife had this idea of hosting a murder mystery evening on our acreage here. What a cool idea right? There are companies that provide this service. They can provide actors, they provide a plot, they come to your house and set everything up for you and your friends to participate in a murder mystery. Problem is, you need a minimum number of participants and, as my regular readers will be aware, we're particular with our friends - preferring quality over quantity. Our true friends are few and geographically dispersed so this was not a practical undertaking.

... disappointing ...

light-bulb-clip-art-11949896971812381266light_bulb_karl_bartel_01_svg_med.png
clipartpanda.com

Then an idea popped into my mind. As my wife was accepting that she couldn't have her Poirot themed murder mystery, I thought about how cool it would be to write to David and ask him to author a little letter for her birthday, sign it and send it to her. It would be a pretty neat consolation to receive birthday wishes from the actual actor that we wanted to mimic at our mystery event.

It's an arduous undertaking that I'm in the process of trying to implement but I think it will blow her socks off. Why? Because it is a targeted idea that focuses on her interests and takes a lot of effort and planning to implement, not because of it's monetary value.

Focus on this for the best gifts. It takes effort and time but it will yield a result that is of significant value; sure to strengthen the relationship with the gift's recipient.

With me luck with getting in contact with David!

Sort:  

Family is most important part life

I have some opinions on that too that I may blog about soon @chandankumar007! Thanks for your comment 👍

I think this is a marvelous idea. I hope it works out. I agree that well thought out gifts can be much better than costly gifts.

I really hope you can make this happen, and I'll be looking forward to hearing updates.

Glad you like the idea @ethandsmith 😉 I'll definitely keep you all informed!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nolnocluap from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Wise words of yours. Money can't buy great gifts but time and real thought can. Expensive things are nice for a moment but real gifts stay forever as a memory!

I really hope that your idea works out and you may see her smile as soon as she opens the letter ;)

Thanks heaps @steembusiness. Even if I can't pull it off for some reason, telling her the story and what I got up to will be fun!

I really hope that it'll work out the way you want it to :) It's a really good idea :)

There is nothing better than a creative gift / Great post. Actually we started doing our kid's parties the last two years recommending people give a little money to the charity we selected in our kids name, instead buying crap at Wal-mart or Target they don't even need. Peace!

Precisely @clumsysilverdad. Often the junk that's bought just becomes a burden that then need to be discarded. Seems so wasteful.

Your idea helps to promote philanthropy in your kids too which is a nice gift in itself!

Goodluck with this. Your wife is so lucky to have you as her husband. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59500.17
ETH 2654.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41