You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 3 Reasons Why Abortion Should Be Avoided!

in #family7 years ago

I personally believe that abortion is a morally incorrect action. I feel relatively certain in this, but I think this stance needs to go through some more fire and brimstone first (in fact, if I had firmer conviction I think it would only make sense to be protesting abortion clinics every day). I get plenty of fire and brimstone at university, but normally people get very angry and resort to personal attack instead of formulating arguments. I'm more interested in well-developed arguments, rather than insults and name-calling.
The main focus here is not to debate a basis for morality (although that may make an interesting future CMV). I think we can all agree that killing somebody is bad, and the debate here whether or not abortion is killing somebody. As well, the debate could be over the circumstances of killing somebody and the moral implication therein. Or some other direction, I don't really want to limit what direction we take in this. So yeah, maybe we could debate morality, if an interesting point comes up. It's pretty easy to change my mind.
This is mostly prompted by the "my body, my choice" argument I hear so often. This seems to say that I think that I should have some say on what you do with your body; I don't (I think the vast majority of pro-life folks agree with me up to this point). But that's not your body. You may be physically connected, but that does not mean it is your body and you can do what you please with it; just as a siamese twin can't kill their other half because it's their body. The argument here is that even at the beginning cellular stage of development, that is a human being. It may be in an early stage of development, but it is a human being. Just as my niece is a toddler, but she is still a human, and a tadpole is still a frog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60589.35
ETH 2628.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53