Taking on someone else's child, 2 years 6 months later

in #family7 years ago (edited)

I wrote a post 9 months ago talking about taking on someone else's daughter.

https://steemit.com/abuse/@karenb54/taking-on-someone-else-s-child-good-bad-idea

Its been 2 years and 6 months since she moved in. When she moved in I was put on the spot, I would never see anyone suffer but when she phoned me and not my daughter the only thing I could say was come here. To be honest I really thought her parents wouldn't let her go, they would be in touch and make sure she came home as that's what I would do, I would want to talk and sort the problem out.

BLUE HAIR MY DAUGHTER, RED HAIR DEMI

I was really shocked when they hardly made any effort to keep in touch, now I know how I felt I was disgusted in how they had treat there own daughter, basically let her go without a fight but the real problem was how Demi felt, it must have really hurt not having her own parents make a effort. She must have felt alone and unwanted. At 16 she is still a child, she wasn't ready to defend for herself and she definitely didn't deserve to be treat the way she was.

Her parents are difficult people to get a long with, they keep themselves to them self but are very paranoid thinking everyone is judging them, there neighbours still don't know Demi has moved out, its a sore subject only because they are embarrassed about there situation. We did everything we could to try and open communication between them but got nothing from them.

2 years 6 months later she is still here, she refuses to speak to her parents, she's 19 now so its her decision. Her parents send her cards for birthday and Christmas with messages saying we love you so much but never try to phone her or come see is she is OK. My big problem with them is they have never come to check who she has moved in with, she doesn't know us or what we are like.

Demi is happy here, actually to happy she refuses to leave... ever. She loves being apart of our MAD family as she calls us. She now feels as is she has a family, .

The only problem I am having is... I was looking forward to having my house to myself, just me and hubby, a clean and tidy house at last but seems now I have 2 girls who are never moving.


Thank you son-of-satire

Hi I am Karen, I am here to write about my life and read about yours.. If you like what you read please upvote and leave me a message so I can come visit youfollow me on Twitter
Sort:  

So what can you take away from this post?

  1. you are an awesome person and an amazing mum. If you weren't Demi would be long gone by now.
  2. you have a huge heart and a caring soul. And in anyone's book, that's a good thing.

I'm glad I followed you when I first joined Steemit. Not only do I get quality content on this platform, but I get to interact with quality people too ;-)

You are too kind, ( the cheque is in the post) I do what I have to do, will never let anyone suffer if I can do something about it, I haven't got much but willing to share :)

I haven't got much but willing to share

And isn't that so often the way?
Those with little are the ones that offer so much.

I've seen it time and again in the poor families i have worked with. the less they have the more welcoming and open they are.

Mind you, I've not worked with rich families (I can't get past the guard dog) so I'm not sure if they are welcoming and open. I think the best way to find out is for me to become fabulously wealthy and find out hehe.

Yeah you do that then you can be extremely nice to me then I can tell everyone how great you are haha

Very exciting what you have shared, I was moved by the story, the first time I went home to live in the house of some friends I was 10 years old, I left because I was close to work, at that time I worked in a mechanical workshop And in definitive form before completing the 15 years I left my home and home province and return when I turned 30, with us being away from loved ones.
Thank you very much dear friend @ karenb54 for this beautiful story

Thank you @jlufer. I think we did the right thing :)

What an amazing thing you did, taking in someone who obviously needed a more loving home.

I'm sure they'll eventually want their own place and will move out. I hope that until that day comes, you'll have lots of fun together!

Thank you. We do have a few laughs, Its all good at the minute :)

Excellent post! I like your work

Thank you :)

Beautiful post. Have upvoted and followed you ☺️

Thank you. Ill pop over and have a read :)

You're an awesome person for doing that.

Now that she's 19 though and plans to stay forever, it gives me pause.

I'm curious to know if this is why many cultures practice arranged marriages? :D

Someone find this woman a Yenta right away!

Maybe a arranged marriage is the way to go, I accept chickens and goats lol

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $1.88 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 22 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

It's really amazing of you to give her a home. I can't imagine ever letting my daughter move into someone else's home and breaking off contact with her. A good parent would never do that or let their child suffer. You are a good parent with a good heart.

Thank you. Me neither, they have shocked me as I would be there talking trying to get her home. I would never give up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57142.21
ETH 2984.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25