Sort:  

Thanks for sharing with us. I must say it doesn't get easier, we've raised two and have had an empty house now for around two years. I probably call too much to check on them. I don't plan on stopping.

Hi @jerryt, I have it all to come, I can see it will not be esay but it is all part of it I guess. Thanks Man

Something I have not experienced myself as I do not have children but I could imagine that being an incredibly difficult situation to face. You have been there to protect them from when they had no idea they even needed protecting and to pass that responsibility on to a stranger or someone you hardly know is a huge endeavor. I have been a guardian in the past and listening to you speak about this makes me understand on a much deeper level why parents were acting the way they were when turning their children over to my watch. Thanks for the perspective brother. Cheers!

Well said @maslowmission and I am glad it gave you some insight. Your perspective as a guardian is one I had not considered before and it is a good point. Thanks Man

You're so right. It's a primal feeling to protect, but balance is needed. They need some freedom to build their own character because one day the parents wont be here anymore. Easier said than done though :)

Absolutely @adetorrent I couldn't agree more. Half of it is teaching them and the other half teaching myself. Looks like it doesn't get easier but that's the job. Thanks Man

People who liked this post also liked:

VLOG 52 - Thanks for 300 Followers Q&A Celebration (Ask Me Anything) by @gisi

Miners Make a Music Video! You've never seen miners like this before :) [DTube Exclusive] by @phototutorials

Playing Dishonored | Walkthrough Part 2 by @veganroma

We recommended this post here.

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts, reply with STOP.

I guess it's quite hard letting your son "go". I think it's natural and normal to feel like the way you do. It doesn't mean that overly worry, but you care. You love your son mate and that is awesome!

Winny out...for now 😉

Thanks Winny, yes I guess it is all part of the natural process.

Clearly it is my responsibility to prepare my sons for the real world and if I wrap them in cotton wool they will not get very far in life.

That is your goal as a parent, to prepare your children for life.
If you do not do that, you failed as a parent.

I agree 100% Phil, there is no grey area, the goal must be reached. Thanks Man

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64921.79
ETH 3541.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36