You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 20 Things You Don't Know About Losing a Parent

in #family7 years ago

I'm sad to hear of your loss, but admire your attitude.

While I am still young and are yet to lose a parent myself, I recognize that time is suddenly flying and thus that day will suddenly be upon me sooner than I would think. Especially now that I've moved abroad for work and only see my parents during the holidays, I cherish our time together more than ever before.

Thank you for this important reminder. I will have your post in the back of my mind when I travel home for Christmas and make sure to treasure our time together more than ever.

Sort:  

Hi @fredrikaa, thank you for your comment. I'm glad I was able to help at least one person from my experiences. I'm also young myself (31 yrs old) so losing my dad felt very sudden and jolting. I thought I had at least 20 more years with him. Though there's so much sadness that's involved, there's also something beautiful as well. And when I see young people like myself taking care of their aging parents, it makes my heart swell with happiness because they're doing it right. With that said, I'm relieved to hear you get the opportunity to visit your parents during the holidays. Give them lots of love, attention, and hugs (even if they don't want it) because you never know when that opportunity dismisses itself. Again, thank you for your kind words and I pray and wish for a very Merry Christmas for you and your family!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63696.24
ETH 2486.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69