You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Mend a Family Feud

in #family7 years ago (edited)

I agree with everything written about family feuds. I'd like to add that depending on the circumstances; it is sometimes appropriate (and healthy) to let go of certain relationships after you've tried your hardest to work on them. Cancer has taught me to let go of a few toxic people; family and friends. Our bodies need the energy from positive people, not the hurtful people. If a family member or friend does not have it in them to let go of the past and continues to treat us with disrespect; it is okay to let go of the relationship. Partiularly if you know that you tried your hardest to forgive and were accountable for your part. Simply because we became family through marriage or were born into a family, it does not mean that we have to love them. Respect yes, but it has to be reciprocal. Have a wonderful day everyone. May you all get the respect that you deserve!

Sort:  

Thank you so much for this comment. I sometimes feel bad because I have decided to let go of the relationship with my father but as you stated when you are repeatedly disrespected it makes sense to let it go. I do disagree with your statement of not having to love your family. God requires us to love others because he has loved us, in spite of ourselves. I do however agree with the notion of loving people from a distance. With some people that is just how it has to be. Life is too short for hurtful relationships.

I pray that God blesses you in a way that only he can as you conquer your cancer. So here's to 2017 and a toxic-free life!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65753.03
ETH 3281.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68