In Memoriam of Mieke the Shepherd

in #family6 years ago (edited)

20170423_190518~3.jpg

Attn: all you pet lovers out there! Today marks a year that I've been without this wonderful furry friend. It's amazing how much soul our domestic animals carry within. They are in so many ways just like humans and they fulfill our hearts as members of our family.

I've not been able to talk much about this little mutt of a shepherd since I watched her take her last breath. At least not without flash-flooding from the soul-windows. Mieke played many roles, most importantly she was my therapy partner. She took care of me and had a sense of compassion that surpassed many people I know. I felt safe with her.

I still have two creatures who need and depend on my attention and care:

mieke 063_20180323133114~2.jpg

WP_20140904_22_21_17_Pro~2.jpg
Capone and Nightwing. These two are the biggest rebels. Capone the crazy husky has been dubbed Sir Capone the Anarchist from Siberia, and Nightwing the ouch mouse has internal struggles of self-identity; and is truly one of my ultimate heroes.

20170717_161159~2.jpg
Her energy felt so good.

20170717_161023~2.jpg
Her last burger. The stalker in the background got one too, those there are lyin' eyes.

20160617_054952~2.jpg
She LOVED watching TV...

WP_20150221_04_48_56_Pro~2.jpg
...while holding hands.

V__C3BA(1)~3.jpg
Mieke S. Thompson. She let me do just about anything as long as she had the attention.

20130514_005434~2.jpg
Her kennel and Kong were some of her best things. She would often hang her hands out of the bars inmate style.

WP_20160528_03_14_26_Pro (3)~2.jpg
Minions found themselves a new boss.

snowday 041~2.jpg
This photo of her tiny self swells my heart. I'm forever grateful to have had a decade of memories to remember with her.

Okay, if you made it this far it's apparent I'm tad fanatical about my fur-babies, and I appreciate your viewing. If you're like me, please share your photos and stories. I'd really love to hear from those of you who understand the special bonds formed between humans and animals. What do/did your family pets do that makes you smile everyday? What makes them humanlike?

Cheers to our beloved animals!

~ERRVoluntaryist
✌❤Ⓐ

Sort:  

Congratulations @errvoluntaryist! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45