You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Grow a Renegade: Baby-Led Weaning

in #family6 years ago

Nope, he can't have bananas but we are hoping it's a reaction that he grows out of having. I feel guilty every time I eat a banana too.

Mmm... Sounds like your little sister is trying some really good stuff. That's great that your mom is still breastfeeding her too. There is nothing like sweet mama's milk to fill a belly, plus mama snuggles are an extra little bonus. -Aimee

Sort:  

Hi Aimee, this is wonderful article and wow the things you have to go through to make sure the twins are fed right.

There's a lot of points in this article that I haven't read before and been doing which is awesome. I just now put a name on how I've been feeding our youngest - laidback breastfeeding! I was just looking for comfortable way to nurse her so I've been laying her across or on me. When I was feeding futurefarmers 2 and 3 I did this too. I know I don't have twins but I did tandem nursing with the middle 2 hahaha.

Thank you, I am glad you enjoyed the article. We had a very challenging time getting started, some days it's hard to believe where we are now. Both twins also had tongue ties too which added even more to the complications.

Oh, I am so happy to hear that you found laid back breastfeeding. It's such a natural position and helps the baby to navigate in addition to so many other benefits. Figuring out laid back while tandem nursing floppy twins was probably one of my biggest obstacles but I am so glad I stuck with it. I commend any mama who tandem nurses her babies, twins or not! There is a lot to manage when you have busy little bodies trying to get a meal, snuggles, and all the goodness of mom. Most days I feel like I am conducting a circus act. Ha ha ha! -Aimee

Tongue ties? I have to look that up.

Yes, I didn't know they had a term for it. I just did what was comfortable and was thinking I wonder if other mamas are doing these maneuvers. But didn't think to search it, it works for me so I go with it. Only now put a name to it!

Hahaha it's funny trying to tandem nurse since one baby pushes the other one. Or fight over who gets the left/right. Great job sticking to it though. It is the best thing we can do for our babies. Definitely healthy for both baby and mom too.

Yes, tongue and lips ties have become increasingly prevalent and figuring out why is a whole other rabbit hole. Essentially the skin beneath the tongue that attaches it to the mouth over grows and restricts the movement. The baby can't lift the tongue to the top of the mouth or move it well enough to express milk or swallow. Without a correction it can lead to malnutrition and even speech impediments. We had to have the skin cut by a doctor and then we had to stretch the tongue every 5 hours to ensure the tie didn't grow back. It was absolutely miserable especially for our poor babies because it hurt them. There were a lot of tears shed, and not just by the twins.

Yes! Fighting babies during tandem nursing is quite interesting. Sometimes they even swap or steal sides! Ha ha ha! Last night was sweet though because while they nursed little H was getting little R a back rub. Heart melting. -Aimee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60583.13
ETH 2342.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48