Family - What's Important To You?

in #family6 years ago

Cookbooks1.jpg

Growing up, the kitchen was the center of my house. Mom made it so.
Sure, Dad was around, and there's no doubting the grill was his domain... he passed that along to me.
But mom made the kitchen into the place to be, in our house. Sitting around the kitchen table, drinking, eating. telling stories. All with this heavy butcher block table, as a solid background.

Visiting my grandparents, it was clear, my Yia Yia (my Greek grandmother) made her's so, as well. No surprise, when I married someone equally amazing in the Kitchen. Now, don't jump all down throat, I was taught by my mom. I was on her coat tails, learning, watching how a sauce was made, or a something was chopped or cut. I learned to season, and not season. I learned that cooking is more so art, than science. (I never learned that bit in baking, which is very much a science more than art!) I cook most nights, maybe 4 or 5, and my wife, once or twice. When my wife puts her mind to it, she can easily outdo me in the kitchen.

AND, we're working on passing it along to our daughters. Sitting around that butcher block table. Telling stories, and making food. What better way, than family cookbooks filled with stories and recipes?

Above, all 3 books we've printed so far. Left, in Maroon, favorite recipes from my brother. Middle in Blue, the book my wife and I made with recipes, original notes and pictures from her Swedish side of the family Passed out just this last Christmas. Right, the light green, My mom's picture from her high school graduation. With our Greek Family recipes.

_DSC2894.JPG

Above, recipes and photos from when my parents, uncles, and aunts all traveled to Greece to see family.

_DSC2895.JPG

Above, another shot inside the Greeks. My mom, left, my brother, my wife, and my aunt, all making Trahana (трахана). It's a semolina pasta like tiny ball, used in Avgolemono soup among many others. We make dozens and dozens of jars (it's a huge pain in the ass to make, and takes up every surface in the house while drying) at time. Note: my yia yia's original recipe notes (r).

ironpagebreak.png

Curiously, that large butcher block table from my youth?
It's in my kitchen; the very same kitchen I grew up in.
Yes, I live in the house I grew up in.
For me, capturing the images of everyday kitchen and life are important.
We all still laugh about the times we have in that kitchen and many other kitchens.
And capturing those bits of history, and make no mistake:
recipes from family are bits of history

Family.
It's what matters to me.
What's important to you?

steem Logo.jpg

thealliance_468x60.jpg

bluefinstudios_red.png

Sort:  

Women belong in the kitchen.
Men belong in the kitchen.
Children belong in the kitchen.
There's food in the kitchen.
Equality.

Also nice page break. :P

Great idea to have family time in the kitchen. It is the best way to learn how to cook. I also like the idea of your original cook books. 🐓🐓

thanks. its important

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

I love looking at my mums old recipe books, funny thing is although I keep them because of the ties to the family, I havent used it in years as its so easy to google a recipe but I might just pull it out today and see what history I can recreate.

So many of these are Go To recipes for our family, so, they get used often enough.

@bluefinstudios the go to ones are in my head, my mum was a bit of this a dash of this and dollop of that lol...

Lol, yeah... I know exactly what you mean.

WOW, what a beautiful post, my friend! I have the same experience!
I learn many of my Mom's recipes growing up. I started a personal recipe book a while back when I was only 16 years old. Family time in the kitchen is so precious. Thank you for this post, I thoroughly enjoyed it!

thanks for stopping in!

I do love to cook, so, spending time making cookbooks and going over family recipes was part a labor of love.

thanks for stopping in!

I do love to cook, so, spending time making cookbooks and going over family recipes was part a labor of love.

I absolutely loved this post :) Brought back so many memories! Love that you know how to cook too! heheheh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65844.70
ETH 3445.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68