That Time I Won A $250 Spa Gift Card from Candace Cameron Bure

in #family6 years ago (edited)

A few years ago, Candace Cameron Bure wrote a book called Balancing it All. She started a contest on Pinterest where you could upload a picture of what you thought "balancing it all" represented in your life. There were a lot of entries. Each week for a month, she would choose a winner based on the number of likes each picture received.

The site said:

Show us how you balance it all for a chance to win one of three $250 spa gift cards and a GRAND PRIZE of $1500 towards a fabulous weekend getaway!

I was happy to have found out about the completion early on, and I planned my photo. At the time, I only had four kids, but quite a few other things filled my life as well. I tried to represent all of that in my photo. Believe me, this was no easy task.

Here was my entry:

As a mom to 4 kids aged 5 and under, I try to balance it all! First off, I'm a wife and Christian. I also do things like I exercise, vacuum, clean the house, cook, take care of the kids, play, laundry, shop, dishes, teach, read and still try to find time to be creative through quilting and knitting. #BalancingItAll

balance1.jpg

I entered and then I posted on my Facebook a link to get all my friends to go like the picture. It worked because I won week #1's entry! The competition after that increased greatly. There were only 5 or so of us the first week. I was contacted that I had won a $250 spafinder gift certificate for my entry and I was super happy!!

At the time, my friend was adopting a boy from Ethiopia and I told her I would give her the gift card to raffle to help raise funds for the adoption. She put it up on her blog and was able to raise some money (I forget how much). A friend of mine in Houston won the raffle and told me that she wanted me to keep it! I told her that I'd meet her in Houston and we could both use it, so it worked out nicely! It was fun to reconnect with my friend and get a massage at a nice spa that Candace Cameron Bure paid for!

I think if I did a new picture representing my current life, it would look a little different... 5 kids, 2 dogs, 2 cats, foreign country, Steemit... Perhaps I should get to reading the book!!

What would you be balancing in your picture???

All photos belong to me.

1panama ben fb.jpg

steemitmamas.jpg

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

Still balancing, cant move to assess load.....so busy.png

That's some balance! My picture hmmm... Opal on one arm, a laptop on the other... Maybe I could make it upside down.... Nope nope. Can't see it.... That's so nice of you to share the prize with others.

I am really only holding up the pan in my hand (which is heavy). I'm reading the weight and Bible on top of the vacuum and my other food it under a drawer where the basket is sitting. ;) It worked out well, though! :) I like Opal in one hand and laptop in the other! Let's see it. ;)

Haha nice! Love the photo, too. The description sounds a little more than chaotic! It certainly sounds like a balancing act. Hrm... Have you ever tried vacuuming while on a unicycle? ;-)

Nope, no unicycle for me! it is definitely a chaotic time (and was back then too). :)

You are amazing @apanamamama. You seem to have a handle on looking after a busy household and still make time for Steemit and quilting. ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45