Spiritual Freedom

in #faith7 years ago

Introduction


The picture and the true story below gives a glimpse into a snapshot of my life, in which I received freedom from spiritual bondage. My hope is, that it encourages someone to put their trust in Christ and receive their own spiritual freedom.

The Door Is Open

The drawing is of a prison cell.  The perspective is of someone sitting in the  prison, looking out towards the open door. The light coming through is also a flame because the Lord himself is a light and a flame according to Isaiah 10:17. 

Jesus is inviting us to walk out of our prisons. The door is wide open.

Whom the Son Sets Free is Free

I was hanging around my house, as usual; dealing with the mundane things of life, the chaos of having five children, and whatever else life was throwing at me. I was in a place where I was having a very difficult time emotionally, spiritually, and mentally. I was depressed and entertaining whispers from the enemy,

“You’re not a good mother, you’ll never get anything right, your regressing in your walk with God, etc.”

I was living in such fear of not pleasing God, analyzing everything that I did, and unable to stop the wrong things that I wanted to let go of. I stopped going to church in fear that I was not in the right place. I separated myself from my friends, and mostly I stayed home, hating life.

Until one day, as I was standing at the sink, washing the million dishes my family makes, my doorbell rings.

I rarely got any visitors, so my thoughts were, who in the world could that be? Perhaps, a neighbor.

I began to dry my hands with a towel as I sauntered to the door, and opened it.

When I saw who it was, I let out a scream of excitement; it was my friend, Kay, whom I hadn’t seen in years! I embraced her and let out a “what are you doing here?!” She responded, “I’m moving back for a while”.

I gave her a big hug and kiss on the cheek and welcomed her in. Apparently, she had coordinating with my husband, in order to surprise me. Not that she needed to, since I was home most of the time, but she didn’t know that.

I had deprived myself of friendships and socialization for two years. Now she was here and I was beside myself, happy as can be.

Now Kay is no ordinary friend. She is a strong woman of God— a praying woman that I knew was divinely assigned to me, like an angel of the Lord. She was a woman on a special mission and unbeknownst to me at that particular time, I was her assignment.

And I was quite the assignment, full of fear, depression, self-condemnation and more.

As hurting as I was during this dark time in my life, I was surviving and I never stopped praying. I never stopped believing. I never stopped reading His Word, but I knew that I wasn’t where I should be spiritually. The attacks I was dealing with were causing fear, pain, and interference in my relationship with God.

Oh, how I longed to be free from anything hindering my walk with God.

Now, I wish I could say that our visit that day was something out of the ordinary, but I can’t. We sat down and caught up a little. After about an hour, she left to go home. Little did I know, she went back to her place, to bring me up in prayer to the Lord.

After about two days, Kay came back to visit me. Right away, she began to reveal things that the Lord was showing her about my life.

I don’t remember everything she said, but I do remember her saying, “Yesenia, you are dealing with spirits of condemnation.” She went on to say a few more things and I began to tear up.

Then she looked at me, and said, “It is not your fault, these things came down through generations of your family not serving the Lord.”

Her words put me at ease a little. I was already beginning to beat myself up, putting myself at fault. (Clearly, these spirits of condemnation were operating at that moment.)

I then blurt out, “I am just waiting to be delivered.” In which she replies, “YOU NEED TO REPENT, YOU HAVE ALREADY BEEN DELIVERED.”

I was taken aback for a moment. Yet I realized, she was right. What Jesus did was a complete work. He set me free when He took the beatings, when they flogged him, when they nailed Him to the cross and pierced His side.

Yes, I realized I had doubt in my heart. Doubt that had to be dealt with.

At that moment, I instantly repented of my unbelief.

After a few more words, Kay said a quick prayer for me and left. I had so much to think about.

I quickly, begin to clean up and was looking forward to putting my children to bed. As I put my almost 1-year-old to bed in her crib. The lights were off and she just laid there tired. I sat down, facing her and I began to pray.

Right away, a song began to rise out of my heart, in which the words were, “There’s no condemnation I’m free, because Jesus loves me, there’s no condemnation, there’s no condemnation, there’s no condemnation—I’m free”.

I sang it over and over with my eyes closed.

Instantly, I began to have a vision in my mind. The vision was of myself in a dark prison cell. I was sitting in the prison cell, and came to the sudden realization that the prison door was open! A bright light was shining through and I thought to myself, why am I sitting here? I am just going to walk out.

I got up, walked towards the light and out the door. I then saw Jesus (although not in full detail). I just knew it was Him. He held His hand out to me, and I took it. End of vision.

Through this vision God was speaking to me. The door had always been open. I only had to walk out and enter into my freedom. I was free! Those tormenting spirits, were put on notice. They could not make me a prisoner in my own home, in my own mind. They could not cause me to tear myself down anymore!

It didn’t end there, because they attempted to come back two or three times, but I had the strength to sing the song that He gave me, “There’s no condemnation I’m free, because Jesus loves me…”, and those spirits would flee right away! Their voices were silenced.

To this day, those condemning spirits have no power over me. They stopped coming back to torment me, because I wasn’t going to have it anymore.

After a couple of weeks, I was able to go back to church and my relationship with the Lord began to grow again. Most of all, I had joy again; unspeakable joy, that gave me strength. I truly realized that God was for me and not against me. He sent me help in my time of need.

I am thankful to Kay. Yet more than anything I am thankful to Him, for what He did was very special to me—forever imprinted in my heart and mind.

Sort:  

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts


To use the bot, one must follow it for at least 3 hours, and then make a transaction where the memo is the url of the post.
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.


Steem ON!

I think it would be fun to gather a bunch of stories from people about the unique experiences that they have had regarding Jesus Christ. I am in awe by the way He guides us gently (but firmly) in everything we do. Thank you for you post @jessie1love. Welcome to Steemit! Cheers! Upvoted and resteemed.

That would be awesome. Who knows we could make it happen one day. :-) Thanks for your support @nexusfyre
and for resteeming. You're the best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50