Raising Up Prayer Warriors

in #faith6 years ago

E2A06CB8-C50A-497F-98BD-C1519C096196.jpeg
I grew up in a home where God was really only mentioned in Sunday school and church. Once we got home midday Sunday, it was back to “normal” life. So in short, I never learned how, as a parent, to raise my kids up in faith.

..................................

My idea was to wait until my kids got “old enough” to “understand” what I was trying to tell them. In my mind, I figured this was around 5 years old. I had no idea how to teach young children the way, and so if I waited till they were a little older, it would be easier?

When I found a homeschool curriculum that centered around my beliefs, I was excited! Now I can learn how to teach my young children about our Father and His Word. And it turns out, it’s a lot easier to teach them than I anticipated!

As I started to teach my daughter different concepts, it really surprised me how quickly she was catching on. I don’t think I give little kids enough credit.

One thing we started doing was to make it a routine to pray before homeschool, before meals, and before bed. Before, I would simply pray to myself. Now, I’m leading by example. It surprised me how quick they were to remind me that we need to pray.

Some days, not only will my daughter tell me it’s time to pray, but she will ask me to pray for her, our family, or all the people. Praise Yah! How wonderful it is to see the beginnings of a prayer life in her!

Now, they haven’t said their first prayer on their own yet (they always ask me to say it), but that’s ok. They’re still listening and learning. But I know when that day comes, our Father will be so pleased!

Looking back, of course it seems like it should have been obvious to teach my kids by example and to simply just teach them (if they don’t get it, they don’t get it, but it’ll eventually click). But again, I think some of it was not having the experience of my parents teaching me as an example to go by.

Do you teach your kids about your faith? If so, how? I’d love to see your ideas and maybe use them myself.


I’m Hebrew Housewife. Remember, be diligent.

Sort:  

I love this. Right after I became a mom, I had some people warn me about letting my kid be privy the things I struggled with because they knew I liked to pray out loud. They said I should only pray out of earshot of my children, and I respectfully disagreed, because I think it is far more important that my sons see that when mommy has struggles, she runs to GOD with them. My oldest has now, on occasion, said “thank you, God” when he is happy about something, because he sees me thanking God for our daily blessings. I think leading by example is important and wonderful!

I am glad to hear you are homeschooling. My husband and I have recently decided to go that route and it’s new to both of us being the product of public school ourselves. It’s nice to know more people ditching the system! 🙂

I think that’s a great idea! It’s good for our kids to see/hear what we struggle with and how we handle them. Not to mention, our kids can then see ourselves practicing what we preach. That’s very important for kids to see.
I am actually surprised by how many people are homeschooling. It was around the time I was pregnant with my first that I entertained the idea of homeschooling. I thought for sure I’d be the only one in my area. Nope, turns out there are quite a few!

howdy there hebrewhousewife! what a great example you are! You are doing everything right in this situation. And I am not sounding surprised, hahaha!
It's a wonderful thing and your righteous example is the most powerful teaching tool so great job! God bless you all!

Leading by example sure rubs off! My husband actually read his Bible tonight! He’s not quite where I am faith-wise, but I see that God is working on him.

howdy this fine Sunday hebrewhousewife! haha! I love that! that is so wonderful to hear, praise God!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99