POTENTIAL VOTING FARM ABUSE REPORTED AS I WRITE THIS POST.

in #fairplay6 years ago

Yesterday I sent an email to Netcoins and got a reply in ref. to my suspicions of the possibility of paid voting farms being used by voters/supporters of one of the contending coins in the current contest.

Link to contest:

http://contest.gonetcoins.com/

Brought to us by:


Image Source

Here is the link to that post.

Email Correspondence With Netcoins.com - RE: Report potential "paid voting farm" abuse in contest.

https://steemit.com/contest/@jackmiller/email-correspondence-with-netcoins-com-re-report-potential-paid-voting-farm-abuse-in-contest

AS I WRITE THIS POST IT IS ALL HAPPENING AGAIN!

So I have done my moral duty as a voter in this contest to report it as it happens:

Here is a copy paste of my email:


Jack Miller <jack..............mail.com>

15:04 (9 minutes ago)

to dkennett
Hi Dave,

It is happening again as I write this email, which by my research into the available voting farms out there on the market, (for likes, follows, votes etc) could suggest that it is a service located somewhere either in the former Soviet Union or possibly in Africa. Although this guess is solely based upon timezones and working hours and as we know all too well that may not play a role in it.

I would kindly ask that the IPs and more importantly the Country of IP be looked into, so as to lay me fears to rest.

Hundreds of votes in a matter of minutes is typical for Facebook Likes via voting farms, or Twitter follows or sharing of sites etc etc or votes on various contests which are purely those from paid voting farms.

I hope that I am wrong, but I highly doubt it.

This is the third time that I have seen this happen on Verge votes.

Hope my 'heads up' here helps.

Sincerely

Jack Miller


END OF CONVERSATION TO DATE (20 October 2018, time of this post)


For those who are not aware of what is happening, it seems that there may be some foul play from someone in the voting on this contest. Nothing new as from what research I did on the relevant party, after being given a tip on their history, it seems that this could be a "norm" in their practices!

However, not to point fingers, I have as you can see in the above correspondence been fair and reasonable and in the heart and soul of fair play, tried to not accuse anyone, but rather look after the best interests of Netcoins and all us voters.

Let's do our best to win this FAIRLY and show that we deserve to win this contest no matter what anyone else out there does.

STEEM ON!

Yours truly

Sort:  

As soon as I woke up today and checked the score it was obvious they were cheating. We are a social media site and the push to vote has been resteemed 1000 times. How are they coming together to vote? It's laughable that they would be able to keep up with us in a fair manner.

Good work Jack - keeping the competition honest.

Posted using Partiko Android

Just like in sports, we need to give this pur best shot and not rely on netcoins to do the right thing.

Everyone needs to be sure to vote today and it will be a non issue!

Posted using Partiko Android

To whom it may concern,

I have some concerns about the verification process. It appears there is some suspicious activity, in that some coins that do not have an active community are receiving large numbers of votes, equal to coins that have an active and vibrant community.

For example, STEEM is currently in 1st place, but INS and VERGE are extremely close. While this may be legitimate, it is odd that so many votes are coming in for these particular coins, considering there is no active community supporting them at this time.

Please consider implementing a second phase of verification to ensure that every vote is human. Thank you for considering this matter.

There is a new player in the game. INS ecosystem probably managed to win contest. They have casted 13K votes in 16 hours from nowhere. They even have much less social activities than VERGE. Netcoin employees are not looking into that due to weekend.

Can you kindly make another contact @netcoins again about INS?

We can't fight a bot farm: https://www.votesfactory.com/buy-ip-votes/

amm i will be able to vote again in few hours

Just vote from the city please, we can't have all this voting from farms it is not good for business :)

I just voted now and I see they rocketted ahead of us again in a small space of time I check their social media feeds and I see nothing special going on their that could drive traffic!

It has to be some sort of underhanded tactics!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hopefully NetCoins will be smart enough to realize the game that Verge is doing and treat it as such.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97