Email Correspondence With Netcoins.com - RE: Report potential "paid voting farm" abuse in contest.

in #contest5 years ago


Image Source


After watching the voting very carefully, like a chicken hawk watches a small chick in a farmers backyard, it has come to my attention that one of the listed coins in the current contest seems to have a voting pattern that resembles that of a "paid voting farm".

Now when I say "paid voting farm" what I am referring to is one of those services that offer all sorts of votes, likes, follows etc for a certain fee.

How can this be noticed?

Well, most of if not all these "services" vote vividly in a matter of no time.

Literally flooding the votes, likes, follows in a matter of minutes, depending on the number of clicks needed it can last anywhere from an hour to a day.

Usually these vote farms are all located in the same country, or sometimes if they are from certain parts of this world where two nations who share a common border and almost common language it can comprise of votes from two nations. Rarely shall any voting farm comprise of "voters" from various nations. Even if this is possible, even without having "physical people" in foreign lands. It all costs time and money, so most of these "services" just don't bother. They all get paid in advance and deliver what was promised and that is a done deal.

So, why is this so important?

Well, this contest is a lot more than just a contest, it is a promotion too.

That is right.

Apart from having a crypto token listed on netcoins.com etc etc etc, it shall bring along with it enough promotions, from blogs, posts, news articles and not to mention the actual web space that will probably equate to hundreds of thousands of dollars worth of advetizing space/time.

Think about it.

So it is actually a rather very lucrative move by some freshly created copy paste pump and dump shitcoin to abuse the contest by hiring one of these BS vote farms.

Yes, unfortunately it is possible and from what I have seen with my very own eyes, there is a lot of reason to believe that one of the contending coins could very well be using a vote farm service.

How sad.

So having seen this crystal clear voting bahaviour from one of the listed options, I went ahead and sent an email to netcoins today and without explaining it, here it is and you can read it for yourselves:


RE: Report potential "paid voting farm" abuse in contest

Hi, my name is Jack Miller,

I am one of the many voters in this contest who is closely monitoring the results shown online.

I understand that the figures may or may not be "in line with real figures", which of course in itself is rather worrying.

However, there is one thing that I have noticed happening and that is the "voting habits" of various "voters" (vote numbers).

Based on what I have seen to date, I can safely say that there is enough reason to suggest that Verge could be using the services of a "paid voting farm".

Usually these votes are more than obvious as they ALL come from IPs in the exact same country or neighbouring country, rarely do these voting farms go to any extra costs to cover up their actions.

If this is "acceptable" in this contest, then who am I to say anything, however, it is my moral obligation to report anything that could put your company and thousands of crypto enthusiasts in a "negative" or should I say "awkward" position.

I appreciate your time and hope that you shall look into this.

Yours truly

Jack Miller


Yes, I did get a response, here it is:


Hello Jack- Thank you for your interest in our contest. It is paramount to us that the process if fair. We appreciate your feedback and take it very seriously. Please leave it with us.

Best,

Dave


I replied with:


I was thinking, in a constructive way, you could put together a spreadsheet after the contest and release it to the public:

Time of vote, last 3 numbers of IP address, Country of IP.

For each token in the running.

It would release your company of ALL "hear say" and likewise say a lot about the "voters" backing the tokens.

Likewise it would guarantee total transparency from your side and prove without a doubt that your company is promoting all the positive aspects of crypto, namely, transparency, decentralization and most importantly ensuring that all information is open to the public, which literally adds value to all crypto out there.

Again, this is just a suggestion and in the best of intentions.

I hope that you could at least consider it, for the sake of everyones good.

Sincerely

Jack Miller


END OF CONVERSATION TO DATE (19 October 2018, time of this post)


I truly hope that action shall be taken to ensure a fair race in this contest and likewise that in future.

It would truly be a shame to see some fresh off the press pump and dump shitcoins be listed on netcoins alongside tokens that have proven their value over time.

I hope that my email, which probably wasn't the only mail trying to make netcoins aware of what was obviously happening (and probably still is) actually get this issue looked into and that in the event that someone is using the services of a "paid for votefarm" be put in their right place.


The purpose of this post is to report on actions taken by myself as a voter in this contest who wants to see communities win and not some scammy pump and dump shitcoin operated by shady characters.


Yours truly

Sort:  

Way to fulfill your duty as a true human, Jack. You're one of the few that I know who really stands up when the wind blows while most are eager to lay down.

VERGE has a very sketchy track record of 'pulling stunts' for attention so if they are, in fact, buying votes then this might attract the opposite sort of attention they might be after.

Just renewed my vote for the day, 4pm again tomorrow for the last day. Hopefully, STEEM keeps that lead and we finish strong 💪
j9u2iL6.gif

Perhaps that's why verge just lost about 600 votes the past few hours. Think @pennsif said something about checking IP's 😎 Good on ya Jack.

Posted using Partiko Android

Edit: I'm seeing a lot of comments about Netcoins as an exhange. It's not. Well, not your traditional one like Poloniex. It's actually a software blockchain integrated into ATM hardware. The ATMs are the POS (point of sale) and act as an exchange.

Good for you Jack!! Good eye... I'd think you are pretty smart or somethin...

Posted using Partiko Android

We know better!

I'm surprised they didn't try to cover their tracks better, but I guess it's as the post says... that takes effort, and they are only selling the votes in bulk. They don't have much to gain from making it harder to see their fraudulent activities.

Braillant observation Jack. I hope they do something about it soonest.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for fighting for us Jack! I appreciate it. Let's win, and let's win in an honest manner!

BRAVO!
It's hard enough to get listed on a major exchange,
let alone to have to work against cheaters. Can U drop me a link
so I can go give a Real LIVE Vote? :)

howdy sir jackmiller! great observation and action taken on this issue!

Don't call me "sir" I worked and always will work for a living! (no grunt or former grunt will ever be a "Sir")

Cheers!

I understand. My apologies. :)

Good work!
I was surprised to see that particular coin get so many votes so suddenly :P

Good job.

This is precisely why I didn't use multiple email accounts to vote! Thought it might look sus.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78