I thought you knew #13: United States renamed

in #facts7 years ago (edited)

Did you know that the United States of America is a name adopted in 1776?
Well, it is and I thought you knew!

On September 9th 1776, the United Colonies was renamed the United State of America.


Meaning, before 1776, there was no name like the United States but the United Colonies.
The resolution was made by Richard Henry Lee and was presented to congress on June 7th and approved on July 2nd of the same year, it was subsequently put into adoption on this day in 1776.


The delegates wrote That in all continental commissions, and other instruments, where, heretofore, the words ‘United Colonies’ have been used, the stile be altered for the future to the “United States.”

Well now you know!

Make the world a better place for someone today!

Additional Source

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ejemai to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily contest, upvote this comment!

For more information, Click Here!

Did you think I was sat here typing with my eyes closed?

Thank you

For sure, now i know bro tip!

Thank you.

Hi @ejemai!
Thanks for sharing such a wonderful info. Honestly speaking I was not aware of this before. Keep sharing stuff like that. And we will continue support you. Regards!

Thank you.

Really nice research

Interesting. I didn't know that, but I now I do. Thanks for the post and passing on some interesting information. Have a great day!

You are welcome and do have a great day.

Thanks for sharing
Now we know

I was there in 1776 don't @ me

I believe you...

I love your articles.I am following.Thank you.

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49