FACES AND PLACES – NEPAL SERIES

in #facesandplaces7 years ago (edited)

One blog, two faces


A new tag: #facesandplaces - with a description of the moment the photos were taken and/or some extra information, inspirational quotes, poems, additional photos to further illustrate…

I will start the series with Nepal and maybe later move on to China, Hong Kong, Borneo, Vietnam, Laos… wherever I have been and will be going.

This is my very first post so please don’t hesitate to give encouragement and/or suggestions. These photos are my babies. I hope you like them as much as I do.


Grandma.jpg
Camera: Samsung Galaxy S4
Location: Kathmandu, Nepal

On my walk to Boudhanath, one early morning, I came across Mina’s sister and her grandmother whom I’d never met. They were on their way back to the orphanage after spending some time praying at the temple nearby. Intrigued by this older lady’s smile and the way we both seemed to “study” each other, I was overcome with the desire to capture her beauty. Naturally, as I often do, I asked her if I could take a photo (my heart always skips a beat when I ask this make-or-break question). She smiled and nodded in acceptance. And although she was fighting the sun shining in her eyes, she gifted me with a shy but beautiful smile.

You can almost see the wisdom piercing through her eyes… so many lines/paths to follow, so many stories to tell.

For those of you who would like to know more about the Tikka placed on her forehead:

Tikka is a red powder used by Hindus in various practices. Most commonly people put it on one another’s foreheads as a blessing. Sometimes it is just a dry powder and sometimes it’s a wet gunk mixed with rice before being put on your head. Tikka high on the forehead in the hair parting is a sign of marriage for Hindu women. source


IMG_8390_edited.jpg
Camera: Canon EOS D500
Location: Kathmandu, Nepal

“Every child is born a naturalist. His eyes are, by nature, open to the glories of the stars, the beauty of the flowers, and the mystery of life.” - Ritu Ghatourey

Photo of a little girl in her Montessori classroom. A reserved child, who seldom spoke, but was mainly focused on exploring and discovering the world around her.


Sylvia

“Learning is not a race for information, it is a walk of discovery” - Jane Healy

Sort:  

What a beautiful post! I often think to myself how many faces in the world and their history we will never be able to get to know, but today I traveled to Nepal through this lovely lady eyes. Thanks for posting!

Thanks for the support Bianca! I often think this too. So many people to meet, so many cultures to discover! How can I possibly fit it all in within a single lifetime?
Happy to bring you alongside this journey.

Hello Sylvia! What a beautiful and unique post! I just signed up to the Steemit Community today and was encouraged to by my entrepreneur husband! I do hope to read more of your blog in the near future as well as admire the beautiful pictures that capture an untold story!

Best of luck and much success!
Sincerely,
Kaia Dublin

Thank you so much Kaia. It's difficult to get exposure as a new person but I wish you best of luck too.

;) I believe it, but thank you and looking forward to the exciting journey ahead!

Xx
Kaia

Photos muy lindas!!!

Gracias Steemitri!

I really like the #facesandplaces tag and hope that more people join in with some nice pictures and stories :) x

YES! A #facesandplaces steemit invasion is exactly what the world needs right now ;)

nice:))

Thanks :))

I love the lines in her face and the smile in her eyes

Isn't she beautiful? And such a sweet lady too.
It's a shame you can't see the second photo I posted. Steemit has just recently changed the background code that resized my older photos and now won't display them :( and since it's been more than 7 days since this post, I can't edit it. Aaarrrggggh
But you know what? Here it is anyway:
IMG_8390_edited.jpg

Precious and bright eyed :)

Huge, I love the expression in the eyes, a great shot, greetings @osm0sis

Thank you so much for visiting oscarps!

I take it to my wall, greetings @osm0sis

Thanks @oscarps! I've resteemed you as well :)

A pleasure to enjoy this great report, besides an excellent job. @osm0sis

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @abh12345. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @osm0sis to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

This post has received a Bellyrub and 5.18 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @abh12345. Send SBD to @bellyrub with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote, every 2.4 hours. Be sure to vote for my Pops, @zeartul, as Steem Witness Hope you enjoyed your bellyrub!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39