Has your Facebook Data been Leaked?

in #facebook6 years ago

Clean up your Facebook account. Let's look at how you can better protect your personal data.

image.png
Image source: Wikimedia Commons

1. Remove unwanted apps
You may have used an app, a game or quiz previously on Facebook, and you have 'agreed' to sign in while some of your information was shared.

Go to "Settings" --> 4th section select "Apps and websites"
There are 3 tabs: Active | Expired | Removed
Check for apps that are still active but you are not using anymore. Click on the app and select "Remove App". You can also check the tick box and remove multiple Apps at the same time.

image.png
Image source: Facebook.com - Settings, Apps and websites

Oh gosh, I have 148 "Expired" Apps...

2. Control your Ad Preferences
Go to "Settings" --> 4th section select "Ads"

You can do a few things here:

  • Select the type of Ads or Company's Ad you would like to see
  • Remove Advertisers that have added you to their 'contact list'
  • Control which Personal Information of yours may be revealed to Advertisers (oh gosh! they know I own an iPad Air 2!)
  • Toggle how Ads are shown based on your viewing habits
  • Toggle who can see your social actions, eg. @tysler likes this: "Best haemorrhoid creams" :(
  • Ability to hide Ads temporarily or permanently

image.png
Image source: Facebook - Ad Preferences

image.png

3. Download ALL your Facebook Data
Look at how your data, viewing habits for the past years, ever since Day 1 on Facebook.
Not much help, since the damage has been done.

Go to "Settings" --> 1st section select "General"

image.png
Image source: Facebook - General

I want whatever earning Facebook had for sharing my information. We want compensation.

image.png
Image source: Flickr - David Berkowitz

-tysler

Sort:  

I am quite disappointing with Fb for not fixing this fk bugs for 10 years!

I see you got hit with the transparency bot....I suppose your next post will be about transparency in all the wrong places. I am all for people upping their game a bit with bots if that's what they want to do but this post was no where near worth the almost hundred bucks you took from others sharing in the rewards pool. This is what transparency should look like so people can make informed decisions when they feel they are being taken advantage of. Yes I totally agree the post was worth getting more than a couple bucks for but we are all floating in the same boat, we all work hard at it, under fifty would have been good.

Due to price adjustments for Steem, the value of my post may have gone up way above hundreds. There are also others upvoting, so if the post was useful, it has served its purpose. I bidded only with bots that have followed the community rules. I understand that content quality is very subjective, sometimes it has its usefulness, sometimes it can be meaningful or just plain beautiful. Anyone on this platform can come in and downvote my article, which I spent time writing while being called trash to whoever that did not appreciate it. In the past I have been downvoted for not citing my image sources or just innocently downvoted because I was collateral in the argument. There is no authority here which I could voice out to, but continue each day to write good articles.

Thank you for the reminder. I will continue to post quality content everyday, although you know sometimes we all get writer's block (so some posts may not be as good as the others). As you can see I am not a bot generating automated daily reports. Or spam. Or copy and paste images without writing a single word. In summary, I used by brain to do write some of these articles. I am not against the transparency bot and I did not downvote the transparency post to hide what I am doing. My apologies if this article wasn't good enough, but my conscience is clear. I will try my best to add more content to this article today if it helps. All the best.

I think you miss the whole point. It doesn't matter if it was one man's junk or another man's treasure it came out of every bodies pot of gold to pay for it. You used the bots based on what you determined the article was worth not the people whose stake in the game thought it was worth. That was predetermined by you when you initiated the use of the bots. There is also a big difference in reasonable compensation for time and effort and just plain gouging the system for your own benefit. When someone sits down without regard of weighing monetarily the value of the article before deploying bots and just outright sends as many bots as possible that is a total disregard for others who are struggling that that money could have helped in the platform.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Signs point to yes

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

The facebook data leak is massive breach of trust for the company as well as for the other companies who are serving the same domain. Now, people will be arguing on it with me on that but that's the truth you get it or not.

I feel the unjust because we should have been compensated for sharing our data. Just yesterday I've turned down my company's group insurance due to its "include it all and loosely defined privacy policy".

Data is the future, it's equivalent to gold in normal day life. Companies are trying to get as much as data as possible to cultivate their own business and make profit. This incident is a eye opener for both the users as well as for the companies.

Спасибо вам за отличный совет. Я уверен, что он поможет многим сохранить свои персональные данные. Удачи Вам и Любви.
Thank you for the excellent advice. I'm sure that he will help many to keep their personal data. Good luck to you and Love.

This post, with over $50.00 in bidbot payouts, has received votes from the following:

minnowbooster payout in the amount of $21 USD.
promobot payout in the amount of $19 USD.
appreciator payout in the amount of $18 USD.
rocky1 payout in the amount of $17 USD.
therising payout in the amount of $16 USD.

For a total calculated bidbot upvote value in the amount of $91 USD.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform @tysler and is by no means a judgement of your work.

This post has been upvoted and picked by Daily Picked #29! Thank you for the cool and quality content. Keep going!

Don’t forget I’m not a robot. I explore, read, upvote and share manually ☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66