How does Facebook get away with it. End Users and Publishers both Mocked by Facebook - the Cowardly Lion

in #facebook6 years ago

banner.jpgSince the infamous new Facebook algorithm was unleashed on its victims - I mean "customers", my Facebook news feed sucks. Worse than ever. Look, I expect to see sneezing Cats in my feed ...a bunch of stuff like that. But the endless drivel of "bet you can't not laugh" posts makes me weep for our country. Who are these people and why does Facebook think I care. Over the last couple of years, I carefully selected newsfeeds I actually wanted to get. and I deleted the newsfeeds that would begin to annoy me. Honest to God it really was not that complicated. But after "Election apocalypse" "Fake News" and Russiagate, Facebook, in part due to bullying from the grownups at Wash Post NYT, CNN, panicked and made the corporate decision that all of their 2.5 billion users were basically stupid. Facebook simply could not trust its users to read things not originated by the mainstream press.

My experience as a consumer of news on Facebook has been really disappointing but what has really been evil lately is Facebooks nearly criminal activity of encouraging me to pay to "boost" my Facebook posts to extend "engagement" and then not keeping their promise. You see, I run a small online news magazine called "Mystic Post. Now and then Facebook would send me a notification that an article I had posted was doing swell. They encouraged me to spend money with "Boost" so that more Facebook followers would get to read my awesome stuff. I regularly paid Facebook to boost my articles - not because I really wanted somebody to read my post but I wanted the reader to be exposed to my newssite with the goal of getting the reader to "Like" my site. That was how the game was played. I gave Facebook money to get "Likes" in turn Facebook would send my content to their users. But now this merry-go-round has just come to a crashing halt. And I still do not have a good explanation how Facebook has gotten away with this. I paid Facebook through "boost" and now Facebook won't send my content to these people who liked my site. Why does this seem like a horrible business practice if not downright criminal?

Hey Facebook send my content to my followers or give me my money back.

Sort:  

Delete and be done with it...

Congratulations @mysticpost! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Congratulations @mysticpost! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68072.80
ETH 3780.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72