Facebook is Your Abusive Spouse (And I'm Your Breakup Manager)

in #facebook8 years ago

Facebook is Your Abusive Spouse.

(And I'm your Breakup Manager.)

There is one question in this politically correct world, we are told, that you are never allowed to ask the victim of domestic violence. This question is: "Why don't you just breakup with him/her already?" Asking this question is forbidden, not only because it forces the person being abused to actually evaluate the reasons for why they stay in the relationship, but it calls into question the irrationality of what is (in an abusive relationship) a constant decision to stay in.

Relationships are always more complex than they appear from the outside. If you try to leave your abusive spouse you will be dealing with a mountain of fallout. They may stock you, maybe even try to kill you. The worst thing that Facebook can do is socially ostracize you from its network (which it in all likelihood has done already by virtue of you being liberty minded).

My relationship with Facebook started out much the same way my relationship with CNN and FOX started out. Unquestioning, ready to believe anything, because, quite honestly, it seemed like the only option. As time went on I started to notice that there were other options, but these options were considered fringe by these very services and the people associated with them. So, keeping in mind just how royally fucked up this spouse is, how you will never in a million years change its mind about anything (seriously @larkenrose, Facebook doesn't deserve you), how it will always reflect the unconscious/controlled part of the Internet, come on over and meet a nice non-abusive friend of mine named Steemit.

Steemit ain't as attractive as your last lover, but it's about whats underneath the skin that counts. Besides, you can always just turn the lights off in the bedroom. Steemit only cares about the quality of the content you produce, call it Conditional Love. Real Love is conditional because it's values based. Your abusive spouse will love you forever no matter what because he/she has no values. He/She just wants to fuck your life up. FOREVER. So ask yourself the hard question: "Why am I still in this abusive dishonest relationship with this control freak spouse/Facebook?"
Sort:  

I quit facebook 2 years ago and I'm so glad I did. Steemit is a completely different creature with very much promise. I enjoyed your post. Cheers!

I only just quit this morning - what made you quit?

My aversion to Justin Bieber as a trending news topic, all jokes aside... the way that trending topics and advertisements overtook my feed and my friends content became more sparse and inane. I could scroll for hours and not see anything truly interesting or newsworthy in what i could not control coming from Facebook's junk insertion bullshit. I got fed up and just deleted all my posts using an app and then suspended my account and never looked back. Thing is, I have a lot of friends, hundreds that I would keep in contact with by being online all day. Now when I see my friends, i don't know what they've been up to and it's refreshing to just play actual catchup instead of already knowing everything I didn't need to know. People have accepted it and they text me if they want to chat, just like old times lol. No Going back EVER.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58493.60
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41