Study Finds Many Facebook Users Would Give Up Their Account For $1,000

in #facebook6 years ago

Toward the end of 2018, it's estimated that Facebook had lost at least 1 million active users over a 3 month period. Various reports have suggested that a growing number of teens today are rapidly abandoning Facebook for other alternatives.

In 2017 the company saw more than 2 million users leave.

However, there are still billions of people who use Facebook regularly, despite the increasing calls across social media to have those accounts terminated in the face of numerous scandals that the company has endured.

Would Those Users Jump Ship For A Price?

Is there an ultimate price that would make these Facebook users abandon their accounts for an extended period of time? That's what a team of researchers sought to recently investigate and they've published their findings in the journal PLOS ONE.

In their study, the researchers had asked participants how much money it might require for them to give up their account for a certain amount of time, either give it up for 1 day or 1 year etc.

They found on average that those users would give up their account for at least $1,139,...

Most answers ranged between $1139 and $2076 as a price that would influence them to give up their account for an entire year.

“We know people must derive tremendous value from Facebook or they wouldn’t spend millions of hours on the site every day. The challenge is how to put a dollar value on a service people don’t pay for.” - Dr. J Corrigan, econ prof from Kenyon College in Ohio.

How Much To Deactivate For One Day?

They found it to be around $4.17 to stop using it for one day and about $37 for just one week.

However, there were some participants who refused to select a bid for what price they might give up their account for, signaling to the researchers that they didn't welcome the possibility of giving up their account for any amount of time.

Pics:
shablon/istock via leafly
zdnet
pixabay

Related Posts:

Facebook Denies Helping Advertisers Target Vulnerable Teen Users

Leaving Facebook For....Facebook

The 'Facebook Effect' On How We Manage Personal Relationships

Sort:  

You can have mine for a dollar.

On second thought you can have mine for a taco. That's right, I would like a taco.

thanks for the laugh😄😄

$1K is too cheap.

you'd let it go for more?

I guess so. I think everybody has a price. I have not heard an attractive enough one. Got me curious. Finally, found something more recent https://www.kqed.org/news/11661387/heres-how-much-you-are-worth-to-facebook-in-dollars-and-cents
which said

the average American Facebook user is worth about $200 a year.
no deal for me. :-)

I would definitely give mine up for a grand.

I would miss my family and some of the events but that would do it for me.

The longer I am here,the less use for Facebook I have. Takes a while to build a network but I definitely don’t post any real content on Facebook. That is all for steem.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I remember when Steemit first came out and tons of people were claiming to leave to FB to use Steemit.

I think this is crazy, as the two platforms are incredibly different in so many ways. Sure you can post your stories here and make a few bucks; whereas on FB you post stories and FB makes money; otherwise, I can't see what Steemit does that could make me use it as a replacement. FB birthday reminders, local groups that are easy to find and be a part of, groups about anything that can share info and ideas as a group, and the fact almost all FB users have had their identity verified to a point where they simply use their FB credentials to log into other various non-FB websites. Oh, and stellar search feature. (If want to look at my posts from 2.5 years ago I need to google it with clever keyword choices).

Steemit is very anonymous! And if you want to be in a group you have to leave this website and network with them on another platform. On Steemit there is no way to block someone from seeing your posts but you can mute yourself from seeing theirs. The bully's on Steemit could flag a user (who spent money to have more power) into oblivion without any way to counter it fairly or easily and so many other things that make the two different. In many ways, Steemit is 'pay to play'. Want more power, pay up, want more followers, spend more time here. FB also requires your time to build a solid following but at least my childhood friends and my family are there for free.

Steemit can be an unforgiving place if you wrong the people with power and influence (which can be pretty petty differences, to be honest). I have been in the whale's graces and lost it. I know what it's like to make decent money, posting simple things here and have great conversations, and I know the opposite. Currently, I just Steemit as an online journal of my life to share with my friends and family, who are on FB; I just post a link to my post. Steemit is very far from being a place where you can say what you want and expect to make money for sharing that thought, but it is a place where you will be rewarded, accordingly to the power of those who have it, if you post the right thing at the right time.

I'm always baffled when people compare the two, I think they are using FB with different intention then what could maximize their FB experience.

However, on the topic of much money would I need to be paid to leave FB for a year... Hmm, I'd say $5,000US.

I do love Steemit and in many ways it as done me well, financially and socially over the years. There are a lot of things happening on Steemit.com that people think is part of the blockchain tech, It's not. the tech is rock solid amazing, the dot-com part is not the whole picture. I wish I got analytics for my personal account, but I don't but the dev's at the dot-com do have that access, which is unfair.

Anyways, this is probably the longest comment I've left in over a year. Please feel to reply with your thoughts on my thoughts. I do love a good conversation.

TLDR: ❶ FB and Steemit are different fish in the same lake. ❷ Don’t quit FB to use Steemit as they function in different ways. ❸ is anonymous and FB verifies identities. ❹ makes the user money, FB makes money from the user (more so than Steemit does).

And finally, @doitvoluntarily you should ask your network how much they need to be paid to leave Steemit. 😹

Well, that is simple: they go to Steemit, and would probably get more than $1000 for the period they were wasting their time, money and life at Facebook :)

I would sell it for half that price!

I'd give mine up for $10

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81