Delete Your Facebook Account - How I did it. How you can do it too.

in #facebook6 years ago (edited)

If you are watching or reading the news - you are probably thinking - screw Facebook.
You are probably also considering how it might be possible to delete your account.
Here is how I did it.

I created a new account without my name and with the idea that I would use it only to keep in contact with friends who were not on other social media. I included no personal data, no photos, no likes, no preferences. I locked it down with every security precaution. I made it administrator to the pages I've had for years. I have a public page and a couple of pages for blogs I used to run. I contacted those friends only on Facebook and private messaged or texted them to make sure they knew the new dummy was me (the old dummy was me too, but they already knew that).

Next I downloaded my entire Facebook history - this link explains how.
https://www.facebook.com/help/131112897028467/

I made sure I had contact info for everyone that mattered to me (and frankly, most did not) and then I deleted as much as I could manually.

Then, I deleted my Facebook account - logged out and didn't log back in (as the old dummy) for the 90 days it took to delete. Here is how to do that:
https://www.facebook.com/help/131112897028467/

That's it. I moved most of my social media usage to Twitter and Instagram and finally found Steemit. Here I am. Here you are. Sign up. It's pretty cool.
90CE84AA-FAAB-41BC-85EC-DD4F56C35A4C.jpeg

Captain Vapoor (that's me) publishes some compelling and sometimes downright weird shit. If you dig it - please
Follow me and Re-STEEM and comment so we can get to know each other!
In addition the following may be helpful to both of us:

Robinhood Crypto Trading Platform
If you want to buy or sell cryptocurrency you will need a couple of accounts:
Binance: https://www.binance.com/?ref=13319173 (I get a little bit from your transaction fees if you use this link - thanks)
Cryptopia: https://www.cryptopia.co.nz/Register?referrer=captainvapoor
Coinbase: https://www.coinbase.com/join/52d742c6c60a61f2a6000033 (Use this link and we both get $10 in BTC)

Bitify is the Ebay of Bitcoin: https://bitify.com/?referral=5a736365dfed6

And for trading stocks on your iPhone (and soon Crypto):
RobinHood: https://share.robinhood.com/christd2392 (use this link and we both get a free stock like Ford or Apple)

If you missed the first installment of my story - here is the link to it:
A Noobs Guide to Blockchain, Bitcoin, and Cryptocurrency - My Story Part 1
And the second installment
A Noobs Guide to Alt-Coins and Cryptocurrency Speculation - My Story Part 2
And here is the latest installment:
A Noob's Guide to Investing in the Stock Market - My Story Part 3

If you have a lot of steem, go ahead and send me some because, why not.

If you like what I post you can buy me a cup of coffee. Sending crypto to the following will earn you great karmic rewards:
If you have Ethereum you can send it to:
0x5258bd0b2c56b4196a75b4c877b68e1a577c4a01
If you have Bitcoin you can send some to:
13B3842R5JB58AyEQBE1ZfVvV6Nvy2txxx
If you have Litecoin you can send it to:
LiH8N8WChFMBSvL9dtCuNc7Jmi3cUd7rvv
If you want to share some of your Cardano ADA you can send it to:
DdzFFzCqrhsnm4aJnxTBthDrCFkDvXH7dU6R4pTeS56jMEfAowYRPvCaVc54kDR18cj2wmtC6pz6rtfm8Jns5HkWofC3L5fBNPTnYDZN
If you want to send some DOGE (Dogcoin) you can send it to :
DKqPpZA5Y5dpxpHbArNdY22eVC7qAXkyv7

Sort:  

very informative and easy to read!

Right on! I deleted my Facebook a few years ago for personal reasons. That’s a great idea about wanting to keep in touch with ones you cared about. Sadly i admit that was one reason why i liked Facebook. But hey it’s time for people to jump ship and come to steemit!

Congratulations @captainvapoor! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59179.00
ETH 2969.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75