Goodbye to Buttercup: A Fifty Word Story

in #f6 years ago


The SUV stopped beside her just outside the compound gate.

A heavily-muscled man stepped out. "Bonny?"

She shook her head. Not anymore.

"Your parents sent us. Come home?"

Even if her parents hadn't sent him, nothing could be worse than Queen Ragweed. She didn't know him, but she got in.


Another fifty word story inspired by one of @jayna's prompts and the general madness in my head. This week's prompt was goodbye.

This space is usually filled by some sort of accompanying article. You're not getting it this week. I'm sick and exhausted and this is all I've managed to write all week. Sorry, but my bed is calling me--again.

 





Posted from my blog with
SteemPress : http://www.rjeanbell.com/2018/10/06/goodbye-to-buttercup-a-fifty-word-story/

Sort:  

This is really powerful, @bex-dk. As usual with your stories, it leaves me wanting more. Who is this girl formerly known as Bonny? Did she enter a cult run by a compelling but evil cult leader named Queen Ragweed? How did she get through the compound gate? Are the fellows in the SUV actually good and will they return her to her parents, or is she just off to another frightening misadventure? Well done. I mean it, I'd love to see this story expand.

And I'm so glad you were able to write, even though you weren't well this week. I certainly hope you are on the mend!

Don't forget to incorporate the title. Bonny was known as Buttercup in the cult. So now she gets to say goodbye to the Buttercup persona and become Bonny again... Trusted cult members do get sent on errands occasionally....

Glad that Bonny escaped the cult. Hopefully she can rebuild her life now... Very engaging story @Bex-dk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79