Untitled Queen

You, and your black-eyed
holes, nights lied, from my pillow
talk of nothing true.

“How dare you,” I cry.
leave your clouds of crusted white,
on the feathered down.

Twelve moons greased away,
still, you growl in a red mask,
toothpicks pop a heart.

No bones out of meat,
crank my legs like chicken wings,
finger-licking bits.

Loose, goose-pimpled flesh,
slides to the floor under-gowned
leave your eyes, my room.

Photo credit: @wandrnrose7


The picture above, taken by @wandrnrose7 is the prompt for this mornings freewrite. I chose to write a poem of sorts, and if you haven't noticed, employed a five-seven-five, syllables for haiku as a framework for my thoughts/images.
Sorry it's a bit dark because I'm really feeling much lighter than this today--just baby dolls crouched on a metal shelf!

Sort:  

Lurid - vivid - memorable! This:
Twelve moons greased away,
still, you growl in a red mask,
toothpicks pop a heart.

Wow!
My husband at age 5 had a nightmare about a toothpick stabbing an apple. An apple. But after reading this, I see why that image stayed with him for 50+ years and counting!

Yes, maybe that apple was his little heart?

Congratulations @kimberlylane! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

OMG! That was crazy scary and now I won't look at a doll the same ever again. I love the haiku idea too.

Resident cat here, all freaked out now as I deliver today's new prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-362-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-run-for-your-life

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Thanks for reading and new prompt :)
Yes, sometimes just picking a form--any one--can be a nice way to write.

Eeek! That was a bit dark! Did I read correctly that the Dolls ate their Girl!? Creeeepy - I love it!!

Well, somebody was getting eaten ;) Glad you like it.

that is dark !! For sure!!! Did you throw your name under the adopt me post? New one coming out soon :)

Just put the hash tag adopt me, but do I need to post in a particular place? Wasn't sure....

I post an adopt me post at the Freewrite House. One is going up tomorrow if all goes well. You just write adopt me in the comments...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58635.35
ETH 3152.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44