Vlog 354: Investment calculations for STEEM.

in #exyle6 years ago (edited)

My next goal is 150k STEEMPOWER and I'm working towards that goal pretty hard.

It's an 22% increase from where I am today.

Next to my blogging efforts (80 STEEM) I currently buy around 40 STEEM a day extra.

It still will take me 220-240 days to reach my goal if I can keep this up.

If I don't buy the STEEM it would take me 330-340 days.

Now this morning I was thinking what if I could reverse it.

So instead of working towards 150k I could buy the 27k STEEM ($37,800) that I need to reach my goal and then sell whatever I earn in STEEM back to fiat till I earned it back.

As it turns out it roughly takes the same amounts of days give or take with my current tactic (earning + selling).

But the scenarios come with different con's and pro's I talk about in my vlog.

Another calculation I did was how long it would take if I would put all my STEEM in a bidbot.

With a return of 60 STEEM per day (Smartsteem calculator) it would take 450 days to reach my target.

That's only a little over a 100 days more but without doing anything at all.

I'm not considering it but I do understand a little better why investors who are not content creators or curators would put their STEEM there.

At 17%-18% ROI on Steempower a year it's it's not a bad investment at all.

I talk about it more in my vlog.



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:




Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

I have taken the middle ground, I have delegated to some projects that give a return @smartsteem is the only bidding service though.
but I do not always use all my voting power every day so that rest I automatically sell to @smartmarket (part of @smartsteem) and this also gives a little ROI which should be a nice addon for you without having to sell to bidbots.
I am of the same principle then you. I have been here a year now (https://steemit.com/steem/@felander/one-year-on-steem-alive-and-kicking) and I just keep powering up. 10 dollar steem would give me a nice extra but is not life changing money yet. I hope to accumulate a bit more before the market explodes. I have a bit on an exchange and will get some more there as well but do not want to bet just on one horse.
I have to spread the risk with different coins, so even though I am a crypto fan I am not yet a "steem maximalist", lol

An interesting analysis @exyle and eye opening as usual as to the differences between being in at the early days and coming in later. Also, useful to help understand the value of using bidbots.

For now I'll keep on blogging, but I'm not sure it's the best investment strategy given the figures you are quoting here. 😊

Hi @exyle!
Great goal... I also checked bid bots, but after studying the whole thing, my best strategy is curation.
If you check Steemworld you can see I'm earning 12SP a week with only 3150SP.
I think you can try to maximice also the Curation part.

Big hug

Steemitri The Mannequin

Not only are you Steemit's first (and maybe only) mannequin but you are by far the smartest!

Hahaha, thanks OldDog!
I don't have big numbers, and my upvotes are not much worth, so I try to do my best ;-)
Hugs
Steemitri

You really are all-in for steem.
I only wish I had that much cash so I could have options o pick from, I only get Steem power from post rewards.

Good going buddy ... my vote for your effort ... we are proud of you :)

Kool ... I am also thinking about delegating the power after powering up my account. By the way, do you think that working myself on daily basis on steemit i.e. author and curation is going to be the fastest way to achieve one's target?

That's how I done it + buying.

That's how I am going to achieve it now ;)

Calculations can change completely if SBD price changes

You initially presented 2 ways of reaching that goal and mentioned that both would take almost the same time to reach it (roughly).

Your calculations are not wrong, but considering the direction of the markets and the amount of speculation that is about to hit the crypto world, I would choose the second method, buy all you need to reach the objective and then sell out your winnings to get back the money. This way, you are already covering the next jump, and let´s be real, STEEM price won´t go below $1, you are pretty safe.

thats a good goal tbh. Everyone has their own limit or GOAL i guess and for me if I get around 25k SP Id be chilling and being more able to provide for the community of steemit

Mark @exyle you have the Right Formula and the Followers just keep Doing what you are Doing.....................

At 17%-18% ROI on Steempower a year it's not a bad investment at all.

Not at all, especially when compared to earnings from your savings you keep in the bank. However, most people prefer to keep money in the bank and not to earn anything instead of having great returns by investing in Steem. Eventually, it will change once the confidence in crypto rises and people stop thinking “it’s all going back to zero” or “it’s all just a ponzi”.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29