The disconnect between me and movie reviewers.

in #exyle5 years ago (edited)

So the other day I went to see Rambo 5 at the local cinema.

I loved Rambo as a kid (I mean who didn't!) and I still like the films today.

If I had to describe a Rambo movie it would probably be like this:

There is an injustice.
Many people will die.
Rambo wins.

I don't expect much more from it. Nor do I want to expect more from a Rambo movie.

And that is exactly what I got when I watched Rambo 5.

It was great even though it's not the best one in the series but very decent enough.

Then I got home and checked some reviews.

I always check reviews after I see a film because I noticed an ever-growing disconnect between me and reviewers for a while now and I don't want to get influenced by them.

But this time around it was a bit more crazy than usual.


Screenshot 2019-10-11 at 18.02.51.png


This is Rotten Tomatoes btw. A pretty famous movie review site.

The reviewers gave it 27% and the Audience gave it an 82%.

For me, that makes no sense.

I don't understand such a big disconnect.

I got exactly what I expected and it was decent enough. Probably not 82%, more like 65% but still...

That is a long way from 27%.

Apparently, according to the reviewers, the movie is too violent, too racist and the acting terrible.

I never read that deeply into it, to be honest.

I just wanted to be entertained for 90 minutes and I guess 82% of the people felt the same.

The next movie I want to see is Gemini Man.

It's a movie with Will Smith, an actor I like a lot (the number of meals I must have eaten in front of the TV watching The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air, probably uncountable!)

Well, at least the movie can't be flawed for racism (not 100% sure here, I haven't seen it yet).

But in theory, that leaves only too violent and terrible acting to bring the rating down!

Unlike usual I did have a small look on Rotten Tomatoes this time...


Screenshot 2019-10-11 at 18.26.10.png


Mmm........

I wonder what was wrong with it this time.

Not that it really matters.

Looking at the audience score...I'm going to enjoy this movie even more!



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:


Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect


We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

Its what CS Lewis famously said many times. Increasingly critics are drawn, not to whats good, but whats "high-minded". Its not good enough that it be enjoyable or that it scratch the itch it was meant to. To be "good" it must be high-minded...

Its snooty. Its bourgeoisie. Its foolishness.

But its also increasingly accurate.

Posted using Partiko Android

Critics are judged by other critics. They don't care wether they enjoy a movie or a book, all they want is for other people (critics above all) to say they are a good critic. Hence the disconnect.

This is because of the ongoing culture war. Which falls, somewhat, into the class of topics which you feel 3speak should probably have less of. It's a fascinating disconnect but very disturbing.

Posted using Partiko iOS

100% correct! Same reason comedy isn't funny any more these days...

I just saw Rambo last week. Awesome movie. I am 100% with you on this. These reviewers are all backed by an agenda of some kind thats why. These days I ignore the mainstream reviews entirely. They should just make an app for once and the audience score should be the factor that determines the "tomatometer" score. Then put the reviewers on the side as a separate score like they do with audience now. This would probably cause more people to use their app. In this day and age of YouTube and content creation the audience rules. No one cares what someone working for xyz times has to say anymore. The days of Ebert & Roeper are long gone.

I'm not sure if it's an agenda but it is something I have noticed with movie reviews especially.

I do go to the cinema often and watch a lot of films and I find myself agreeing less and less with the reviewers.

This ultimately will lead to a point where I just don't trust them or care for them at all.

I think the "critics" are watching the movies for dramatic appeal. (i.e. what win awards). The general public is watching the movie simply for enjoyment.

I wonder if the separation between the "pollsters" versus the "general public" would correlate this against recent elections in various Countries. The pollsters/critic tell us what they think will happen based on an outdated recipe ... the public votes how they feel.

I thought about that too. And it gets very complex. But not so much for films, I guess.

If a majority of the critics say Rambo is bad movie and a Majority of the Public says Rambo is a great film then who speaks the truth?

The only way you can know for sure is to go and watch it and then you will know.

But on other more important topics you can't always do that. And that is a problem.

So when you hear constantly that Person A will win the election because this person is the best but then Person B wins it. What was the truth and who was right?

I don't really think you assume the score is that low due to Smith's acting. He is pretty much always exceptional. Who would have guessed from watching The Fresh Prince of Bel Air he would grow up to be such a fantastic actor. I don't usually put a lot of stock in what the reviewers think of movies. They always go for the more intellectual snoozefests and claim they are ground breaking and a must see. No thanks. I just want to be entertained for a good 90 to 120 minutes and I don't really care how bad they think it is.

Haha, no that was more an attempt on my part to try to be funny. I agree with you, not every film should be intellectual or 'deep' to be good.

Sometimes you just want to be entertained. That's why I am looking forward to Gemini Man, especially after seeing the audience score.

For sure!

Posted using Partiko Android

Its what CS Lewis famously said many times. Increasingly critics are drawn, not to whats good, but whats "high-minded". Its not good enough that it be enjoyable or that it scratch the itch it was meant to. To be "good" it must be high-minded...

Its snooty. Its bourgeoisie. Its foolishness.

But its also increasingly accurate.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think it is hard to deny that it is a "bad" movie without any substance and I think this is what the "professionals" look for.

I want to see it with a couple friends and some beer and if there is any deepness in it I will not be happy.

Haha, don't worry you won't find too much deepness.

Had my eyes on that one. If you like movies and you haven't seen it yet, check Joker. One of the best movies I've seen this year!

Saw it, man! Fantastic movie!

Society became weird in the last 10 years... political correctness and social justice warriors everywhere, when did people become so soft? 😂😂

These critics did the same with dave chappelle comedy special... smh smh

Posted using Partiko iOS

Screenshot 2019-10-12 at 09.43.04.png


O wow. Those scores. I have not seen it yet. I'll add it to the list.

It's good you still enjoyed it yourself, that's how it should be!

A lot of people tend to look for specific things to nit-pick at, have higher standards and can't just enjoy movies. I usually have a slightly lower standard since I know not all movies can be unique or perfect with most ideas already used.

I never pay lots of attention to reviewers, but the people who watched and reviewed, but then tend to make my own verdict as I tend to like movies others don't, like B grade movies I still can enjoy a lot, sometimes.

I just want to be entertained. Sometimes that can be through an intellectual film with deep meaning but sometimes you just want to see some good old violence.

I've been told my standard for good movies is pretty low too :)

Both options are good, always love some violence as a change, while enjoying something that gets you thinking.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60209.45
ETH 3212.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43