On my way to London once more. Dodging protesters and the usual quest for fun.

in #exyle4 years ago (edited)

I am on my way to London once more.

The flight is sadly delayed for a couple of hours so it gives me some time to write.

This morning I read in the news that Extinction Rebellion is climbing on the carts of the London Metro.

They have been rightfully taken off IMHO by angry passengers.

I don't understand the action by the group.

Metro is an electric transport for the public.

It's probably close to the best transport there is for the preservation of the planet although it's a bit old.

So I can only conclude in this case they just want to piss people off.

I guess it's working.

Dunno what they want exactly. Must we all go back to walking?

I hope when I get there I won't encounter these nutcases. I just want to have a good time.

In Holland, we have our own type of protest going on at the moment.

The farmers are upset about some new regulations and they are not afraid to show it.



But unlike in London, I think it's great that a lot of people in Holland support the farmers even though they have caused endless amounts of traffic jams.

It's the difference between sympathy and anger towards a protest.

It's not that hard to understand the difference unless you are a nutcase standing on top of a metro cart I guess.

Everything has become political.

From getting some gas to my trip to London.

It's a trend.

Thinking about it, I wonder if they are crawling around on my airplane too.

Maybe that's the reason it's delayed. Who knows?

I am looking forward to my trip though if I can get there.

I love London and of course, I'm going to visit my good friends @ezzy and @rea.

When I go to London the quest is always the same.

It will all be about looking for good food, playing old skool games, and just having fun.

So far every trip has been a success regarding this!

And in this ever-changing world, I'm grateful this is the case.

Sort:  

They're looking for those violent responses, since they think that will cause the public to become sympathetic to their cause.

Here's a snippet of an article about Extinction Rebellion Belgium (posting just a snippet since the full article is behind a paywall) . I know they're talking specifically about police violence, but I assume they're just looking for any sort of violent response.

Screenshot: https://imgur.com/i8VP9Iu

I'm not a big fan of these radical people, even though I do believe human caused climate change is 100% real. Taking them off the metro was right IMO, but kicking them while they're down is not. Although I can understand the frustration.

Thanks for the snippet!

Ah man. It's good folks are realizing their power. But, let's hope & pray everyone can stay safe and steer clear of violence. Wishing you a safe, super fun & enjoyable travels and visit with your good friends

rightfully beaten

sorry exyle, i don't condone violence. unfollowed.

Poor choice of words by me. I don’t condone violence ether.

Posted using Partiko iOS

ok cool, i'm back... ;) -- can't stay the idea that we fight/beat people over having different opinions on how the planet should work and what we do in our own minds to fight for it.

thanks for replying and putting that message dude.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

We are in the middle of our own kind of protest right now. One of the local unions is striking because they haven't come to an agreement with management. It happens pretty frequently here. I have seen many of them in my lifetime. There has been lots of support for it, so I don't think people are too upset. Generally it tends to fall along political party lines if they are.

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Smile. @exyle. Have a safe flight.🗽✈️ My regards to your friends @ezzy and @reaI hope to Visit London with my family too soon.

Have a safe journey.

Posted using Partiko Android

Pizza Pilgrams in Soho. You wont be disappointed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85