Felt like freewriting about crypto and Steem. Making decisions, the price, FUD, the value of 1 token.

in #exyle5 years ago (edited)

IMG_5403.jpg


Tomorrow morning at 9 I'm back to my old job once more.

It's a continuation from the work I did for this client last week (IT job).

I don't mind doing it but that's only because I managed to put myself in a position where I can pick and choose who I help.

Also now that my clients know I help them because I want to (not because I need to) they just pay without too much moaning :)

Working my old job always reminds of how much my life has changed since discovering crypto and how long it took for it to change.

I discovered BTC in 2013 but it took 5 years before I could give up my job and because of the recent bear market I'm still not 100% in the clear, although I'm not too worried.

I have time to sit it out. Only a total disaster in crypto and its value plummeting to zero will have to make me adapt my future plans.

I highly doubt this will happen but I always do consider it somewhere in the back of my mind when I make decisions.

It's simply how I am wired. Always on the side of caution.

When it comes to STEEM I am pleased.

I didn't think we would go so far down but as they say markets can stay irrational longer than you can stay solvent.

I stayed solvent because I'm careful and don't spend money like a nutcase on things I don't need.

I also build a buffer in FIAT in the good times which was the best move I could have made.

I used to be in camp anti FIAT when I was learning about how it is created and that the dollar lost 99% of its value in the last 100 years but then I realise that STEEM lost 97% of its value in less than a year and it doesn't sound so bad.

In other words, I was happy the escape was there because hiding somewhere in crypto was no option unless you trust pegged tokens which I don't.

Anyway, I think for STEEM this time around (3rd time for me) the bottom took place on the 16th of December 2018.

Since then we have more than doubled and that's good and the fact we crossed the MA200 recently is even better.

Especially for me personally since I been buying all the way to the bottom taking all the risk so it's nice to see the multiplier work the other way for once (UP!).

It's never easy buying against the FUD (STEEM is going to 10 cents! Maybe 5 cents! bla bla...I must have muted most of the ppl that create this noise) but I guess by now I am a 'veteran' when it comes to this.

I make my own decisions.

Personally in 5 years from now when STEEM is much higher (or zero :) ) it doesn't really matter who bought it or how anyone acquired it.

It's basically the same for Bitcoin. I know there are wallets out there with 10k+ BTC but who owns it and how they got it? I don't know.

But it doesn't seem to bother anyone. It's just the way it is.

The same will happen to STEEM when Steem succeeds.

There will be maybe a thousands accounts with more than 20k STEEM and millions upon millions of users trying to get just 1 STEEM.

This is what I always keep in mind when I earn STEEM.

Wether it's 12 STEEM in a tournament like today or 2 STEEM because I curated a post.

Every one of them is so precious but it takes a bit of vision to see it and a lot of patience!

So my pro tip would be: make sure you have at least a few STEEM in your account and backup those private keys!

You might be happily surprised in the years to come that you did!

Enjoy your Evening!



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:



Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect


We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

I really wanted to say something about the wise words you wrote down but I just can't stop looking at the beer sign in the background... Damn I need one of them at home xD
And hopefully steem won't go to zero in the next years and instead hit the 3digits mhhh that would be really nice. I can see myself sitting at the beach while earning the money through steem xD

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol, now I can't stop looking at the beer sign because you mentioned it...

Come to the dark side we have beer xD

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha, glad you like the sign :) . Bianca gave it to me some time ago.

@exyle, Whenever we take decisions then no matter how much confidence we have or how much particular aspect is comforting us, we have to hold the Alternatives because we should never forget that only Change Is Constant and change can bring so much growth or vice versa. And your mindset is awesome brother and yes, no matter 1 or 10 Steem we should see future when many will stand far away from touching that one Steem. Let's enjoy the journey and let's journey reveal itself where Steem will reach. Stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Even i am waiting for the same kind of thing when people said it will be rubbish project now . You will face a huge loss and blabla bla.. but i really like this Steem and i hold my investment and didn't remove it .

That's for sure one day people will thing to get and earn only 1 STEEM and it will be in top 25 project.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have always considered your journey kind of an inspiration, I’m glad I bought STEEM at 24 cents a couple of months ago, it might go back down short term but with all the activity that is taking place here, I think STEEM has the ability to be a top 10 blockchain long term and as the inflation trickles down there will be even less tokens available for new users. :)

Thanks man! It will be a volatile ride no doubt but Steem is very strong and active. Given enough time it's a winner. Nice buy @24 cents btw!

I am having issues with this wallet change, I can't seem to log in anywhere with my master keys. Where is the best place to login with that? Both steemit and the wallet ask for sub permissions.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm not familiar with the issue you are having. You can try the keychain extension for Chrome/Firefox made by @stoodkev and @yabapmatt. It will derive all the keys for you from the master password.

Thank You Mark @exyle You just made me do a RESTEEM. I just Know That Steem is Wonderful, I just Need to be Patient............

Nice post! I always enjoy reading your posts like this. It is interesting to hear your opinion on where things have been and where they are going. I am trying to gather up as much STEEM as I can right now. I have been powering up pretty much everything I have been making. If I could spend some fiat and buy some more I totally would. I want to be one of those 1000 with 20k STEEM!

Great post! Always nice to hear thoughts about STEEM and FIAT and how everyone is handling it. I think we did well buying when STEEM was low and knowing our 1 euro would never gain as much value as our STEEM definitely will... (Well... very very probably...)

Cheers!

Great a Free write !

"markets can stay irrational longer than you can stay solvent." - never heard this before, but it is completely true!

As for STEEM, I feel the exactly same way, I don´t care if I´m getting 0.02 STEEM/SBD per post/comment, I´m very aware that every bit will make the difference when the price explodes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84