Do you have you car serviced regularly?

in #exyle5 years ago

IMG_5519.jpg


I had an MOT on my car today.

It's a mandatory check a car has to pass to make it road legal in the Netherlands.

I drive a Ford Focus from 2004 and so far it's been very good to me.

Also this time round the MOT went well, setting me back 200 euro for 2 new front tires, a driveshaft cover (whatever that is) and a repair on my third break light (it was busted) and some extra oil + of-course the labour costs.

I thought that was ok, as it allows me to drive the car legally for another whole year.

But here's the thing. MOT is the only thing I let anyone do on to my car ever since I owned a car.

I always have discussions with people wether you should also have your car serviced regularly besides the MOT.

Since I got this car (about 4 years now I think) I never had it serviced and it always works fine.

My previous car (Peugeot 205) also never got any service besides the MOT and it always was fine for all the years I had it and passed all the checks when I sold it to another garage owner.

Is this Luck?

My reasoning for doing it this way: Any real problems will probably come up with the MOT and otherwise it's best to let something become a problem first than have someone 'look' for them.

Thoughts?



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:



Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect


We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

We don't have these mandatory annual checks in Minnesota. Some states in the U.S. check the vehicles to make sure they pass emissions though. I usually have my oil changed and rotate the tires at recommended intervals. Anything that could cause catastrophic failure, like timing belts/chains I'll change at the recommended times as well.

The only car that's been a huge headache for me was a 2002 Saturn SL2, that car had something wrong with it every few months. My Hondas and Toyota have been nothing but reliable.

I CAN'T WAIT to get an electric vehicle for the mere fact that there is so much less on the drivetrain to fail or wear out. I'll be getting the Tesla Y or 3 in a couple of years.

I just looked up that Peugeot and it was voted Car of the Decade! It must’ve been a good one.

Car of the Decade! Wow! I had no idea! Loved that little motor though. Very fun to drive.

I must have a lot on my car too I had the letter.... Yeah.... the letter 😱😱😱😱😈😈😈🙈 but in leiden you can buy second hand tires like they use for trucks. For like 100 euro for 4 tires. So it's good. Sorry for the extra points.. polish woman in the house shots... Friday night... do i need to say more? 😂🤣😂🤣😂 well I will do it when I have the time. I need a new exhaustion pipe I think a part. Well too much now going to party further. 😎

Posted using Partiko Android

You should change the oil a little more often. It will increase the longevity of your engine. Other fluid swaps should be done at least yearly. Synthetic lubricants can increase your time between changes.

Posted using Partiko Android

In Canada you only need a safety inspection from the MOT done on your car when you register it in your name so you can own a car your entire life and only have it down once. That being said if you get pulled over but the police or ministry inspection officers you can be fined for an unsafe vehicle.

They are definitely improving the lifespan of vehicles than in the past. I decided to buy a brand new vehicle this year as well and hope it can last 10 years!

Posted using Partiko iOS

@exyle, Definitely it's not luck it's the way of using it and in my opinion you've used it so effectively that it never went for the Servicing before. Stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting. The Netherlands has mandatory vehicle inspection, too. We have our vehicles inspected as required (not mandatory every year for new cars) and fix whatever problems occur at that point. If something comes up, we'll have it fixed but we have had very few issues even with our twelve-year-old Mitsubishi. One battery that had the correct voltage when measured but failed a proper test gave us headaches a few times until we had it replaced. The road conditions are much worse here than in the Netherlands because the roads have to be salted 4-6 months out of the year.

We have both our cars serviced once a year prior to or after the mandatory inspection.

Beside getting the oil change and the occasional new tire, I don’t get my car serviced much at all unless I have to. I’ve had really good luck with the few cars I’ve owned though. Their previous owners took good care of the cars before I got them.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I guess I also have that luck.

You have a good and reliable car, also pretty new ( at least compared to mine ) I had no idea about the MOT, there’s no such thing in Uruguay, I have my 1983 Mercedes and I’m sure that will probably not pass that MOT inspection lol. Btw Peugeot 205 is an amazing car, I used to have a 106 and it was solid as a rock. Cheers for your new year of legal car.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm with you. I learnt the hard way in the mid 90s with one of my first cars. I took it for an MOT preparation. It had a lot wrong with it and it cost me £400, about 1/3 of the value of the car. I went to the MOT the next week and it failed. The lesson I learned was that the MOT fee is the cheapest diagnosis of what your car is going to fail on. Go, fail, get fixed what it failed on and then retest.

Cool! I don't know many that do it in this way. Seems to work for you too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68