You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit.com is running at a loss! Start generating revenue or get out, you are strangling other applications from succeeding.

in #exyle6 years ago

@exyle, I have some questions. I will be glad if you answer my questions.

  1. How many FULL Nodes do the Steem Ecosystem has?
  2. Is the information stored on one Node is the same that is stored on the other Nodes? What I mean. If i uploaded today I pic with me at the office I work at, where this information (this file) is saved? On all of the nodes or just one of them?
  3. So, each Node is run by different organizations, such as Steemit?
Sort:  

let me see if I can answer number 2, since I think they are important questions.

The information stored on one node should be the same as another node. The cost associated with nodes is born from the calling of data from a particular node. The security between nodes (in regards to having the same set of information) is why we have witnesses.

The nodes only store text information. Photos are not stored on the blockchain, instead the blockchain stores the text link to the photo, otherwise the blockchain would be massive in size.

@motoengineer, where are the photos stored?

Posted using Partiko Android

On a server thats paid for by steemit inc, but it is not on the blockchain.

@motoengineer, so where is in this case the blockchain? A blockchain that holds text (info or paths) to the servers on which the pics and posts are stored?

Posted using Partiko Android

the actual blockchain exists on the nodes. Since dapps require the information on the nodes, the nodes must exist to provide the dapps with the information they need. More dapps, means more nodes needed. In order to reduce the load on the nodes, they can be more efficient. Right now, it seems like they know they can streamline how the nodes function.

A basic example would be, if i ask the server for information X, and it sends back XYZ, then the portion YZ is useless to me. So lets reduce the erroneous information.

@motoengineer, oh man... I am not a tech geek. I don't understand that well this "language". :). Anyway, I am a financial analyst. I think Bitcoin price will drop below $2000 per coin. Probably $1000 or $1500. So, STEEM may drop well below 0,20$. For example 0,13$-0,15$. I just want to figure out if we can survive in this downtrend. Prices of crypto may stay low at least for the next 1-2 years.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84