1918: The Curse of the Bambino!

in #explore19186 years ago

Hello, Steemit world! My name is John Smith (yes, I know), and I’m extremely excited to join your community!

I study public history at Temple University where I also work in the school’s library on digitization projects. With quite a few Temple students working on the @phillyhistory initiative, you may be asking yourself, “what’s so great about Temple U?” Well, I’m glad you asked! Temple’s library and special collections offer incredible resources for studying the past. The Special Collections Research Center collects items that document the social history of Philadelphia. For those interested in the #explore1918 challenge, may I suggest browsing this collection of World War One posters? I often find myself searching through this collection when I should be working.

Speaking of 1918, I’m also a devote New York Yankees fan and follow baseball religiously. For those who don’t already know, the year 1918 was a special year for the Yankees. Although the Boston Red Sox, the Yankees’ archrival, beat the Chicago Cubs and won the World Series, they would never win another championship for eighty-six years. Many, including myself, believe that the following year, the Red Sox were perpetually cursed when they sold Babe Ruth to the Yankees. (Yes, Babe Ruth...The Sultan of Swat...The King of Crash...The Colossus of Clout…The Great Bambino...BABE RUTH!) In 15 years with the Yankees, the Babe became a baseball icon and helped the team win four World Series championships.

Babe Ruth Red Sox 1918
Babe Ruth with the Boston Red Sox in 1918.

Babe Ruth by Paul Thompson, 1920
Babe Ruth with the New York Yankees in 1920.

Between 1919 and 2003, the Boston Red Sox never won another World Series, and during the same span, the Yankees won twenty-six championships. Some of my fondest memories include traveling to the old Yankee Stadium when the Red Sox were in town and joining the crowd in demeaning chants of “1918.” I remember vividly Game Seven of the 2003 American League Championship Series between the Yankees and Red Sox. Before coming in to pitch, Roger Clemens paid his respects to the Babe Ruth monument in the outfield...the Yankees went on to win in extra innings. The world was a better place before the Red Sox won the World Series in 2004 and “broke the curse.”

Moving forward, I promise not to let my emotional attachment to the year 1918 prevent me from writing non-baseball related reflections. Since this was an introduction, however, I felt obliged to discuss the glorious 1918 Curse of the Bambino.

100% of the SBD rewards from this #explore1918 post will support the Philadelphia History initiative @phillyhistory. This crypto-experiment is part of a graduate course at Temple University's Center for Public History and is exploring history and empowering education to endow meaning. To learn more click here.

Sort:  

Keep the baseball coming, John!

Hey John,
whenever I see a new member I try and make them feel welcome as a new member to the Steemit family.I have big expectations for the Steemit platform in this new year. Get to know your fellow Steamians and let us get to know you. I will Follow, Upvote and Resteem you after this comment, be sure and do the same for me. Here's wishing all the best to you and yours in 2018! By the way, I lived in Doylestown, PA for about 3 years. Good history on the Babe too!
Danny Zale ~ @factcheck

Welcome to Steemit! Those are some great history on Babe. I hope you enjoy your time here and be sure to check out DTube and Dsound as well. These are the video and audio platforms that are based on the Steem Blockchain and are great additions to your Steemit world. As well, I hope you will look over some of my content and consider following along! Kindest regards.

Hi @johnesmithiii, welcome to Steemit! Looking forward to exploring 1918 with you. Enjoy and explore!

Welcome to the community, you will have great fun over here 😊

Nice post John. Speaking of players who played for both the Red Sox and the Yankees, what do you think of Roger Clemens? Should he be in the hall of fame?

Hi, I welcome you to this wonderful steemit group.
I invite you to review my blog.-

It's true, i blame most of our current problems on that 2004 game- feels like we switched rails into another reality after the curse was broken..

either way, happy to have you here on steemit @johnesmithiii Was not expecting to see babe on my feed this morning but I'm happy I did!

Bringing up baseball made me happy, but on seeing babe Ruth being discussed, I felt elated... You're in the right place here on steemit, welcome and explore#baseballfans

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57151.22
ETH 3067.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32