Embedding DTube Videos

in #experiment5 years ago (edited)


This experimental post will be testing two things essentially; the ability to embed DTube videos on a WordPress blog, and how Steem applications respond to it.

The above is one of my recent DTube videos. By default, interfaces like Busy auto embed the video within the post. Steemit on the other had just displays the video thumbnail as a linked graphic to the video on DTube.

It is actually possible to embed a DTube video within a Steemit post but it has to be done after the fact as a edit. The edit also breaks Busy's (and other dapps') embed of the video unfortunately.

My expectation is that this post will display correctly on WordPress and Steemit - since the embed method is the same for the two platforms. On Busy and other platforms, however, I expect the video to not be displayed in an embedded form. Rather I expect there to be some kind of error code, or the iframe code displayed as text.

Another thing that I noticed is that the default width of the embedded video is 512 pixels. This doesn't look nice to me on Wordpress, as the text paragraph width is much wider than that. I edited the iframe code and changed the width to 1200 pixels. I'm not sure what the effect of that would be on Steemit or Busy.

Anyhow it doesn't matter much right now. This video will not be playable at some point when it gets deleted from the IPFS server, so DTube isn't really the best place to embed videos from right now. There are other IPFS solutions that will keep the video for much longer (as long as the correct payment is kept up I believe).

Nevertheless, I find the exercise interesting just to see what's possible and how various platforms respond to inputs from WordPress.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://adetorrent.com/embedding-dtube-videos/
Sort:  

On Partiko I can't see the video.

Thank you. That's good to know :)

oh embedding is a major yes!! feature!

Indeed! Even if for the 1 month, or so, the videos stay up for :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I am only seeing your image on Partiko! 😵

Posted using Partiko Android

Works great on Steemit but Partiko doesn’t even show the link.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @adetorrent! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 60000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 65000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56125.76
ETH 2526.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27