Taking another lane...

in #experiences8 years ago (edited)

1ff1cb4c7550a41a9986e1f4be2003f3.jpg

A friend of mine (thanks @cass) pointed me to this interesting platform and thought I should check it out - so here I am – rob (@robrob).


when everybody looks right, you go left.
– Mr. Goodkat
Kansas City Shuffle

A natural born traveling man, avid music and literature lover, hobby philosopher & photographer, graduated (or degraded, not quiete sure) wildlife ecologist and generally free spirit, who doesn´t like to fit in your typical box or scheme (certainly I am not a loner, so don´t ask me, there are lots of friends around, but I like my quiete times to think and kick back and dislike ever since, to roam around in large groups or horde of people and more so, to belong to any kind of group or fashionable stream: I do, use, hear and watch what I like from any direction, era or age, and follow not a certain zeitgeisty bullshit, because everybody feels the pressure to have, wear or use the certain gimmick)...where we would come to:

Paths are created by taking them on your own, off the beaten tracks.
Which is a little abbreviation from ol´ Kafka.

This ensures also a certain sense of originality and of being true to yourself. Which might assist in having a genuine feel, about doing things rather your way than follow your leader, stupe. I also recommend highly in this wicked times, to use own brain functions (as long as it is still working, in times of sense- and often useless information overload), build opinions on hard facts, that you dig from trustworthy sources (which can be yellow press, if you are following the really important stuff, like whom of the Kardashians got their ass inflated), rather than fell into a trap of trumpesque idiocy, which expresses itself by adopting stupid, xenophob or any other kind of -phob opinions, that hurt the feelings of minorities or certain groups or individuals, that are chucked, while don´t sharing your bully opinion with them.

This is in my point of view, key, to make sense and be true for yourself, about what is going on out there, in an environment steadily increasing its speed of life, which involves a shortened attention span and an ever evolving stupidity and restlessness (very pronounced when you look at generation Z) - which is obviously alarming and sickening, not only to many human organisms living in it.

Everything

After all it is EVERYTHING, really EVERYTHING about mutual respect, acceptance and acknowledgment, which is the only correct answer for society on this globalised island, (like I see it, rather than a globe, after we are all more and more very closely connected and related, at least somehow). And this: I tell you, as a real wood gnome, who really often don´t give too much, about the horrendous numbers of sheeps walking around.


Don´t get me wrong I like people, and I like what they are capable of, when it comes to creative processes, when actually brains getting used, doing stuff that changes like reating steemit, or promote any other positive movement in a certain way.

I guess my partial misanthropic tendencies are more or less caused by the sickening and pretentious stuff, that clogs our brains like some force of another planet or a currency, that is trending sky scraper high inflationary with selling us useless information, and uninteresting stuff like some new form of home order (television) stupidity. Something you can experience, when you are taking part on very important society meetings, where very important conversations are held, by very important people, that generally talk the talk, just to overcome the deafening silence inside their heads - Ouch!)



Dudes & Dudettes

Like I mentioned, I travelled, read, and studied (people and nature) extensively, and I am right now in the mode to figure out what comes next. Which is not easy and right now a big task for me, til I can drop off some dead weight called freightening existential fear (which obviously doesn´t exist in the form I am experiencing it "right now", especially when you are from a country in Western Europe.

It has to have something to do, with being back in the system after being light with backbag, while travelling or living the sweet student life, with getting older and feeling responsibility (for giving something back after I got it pretty sweet), and having the sincere feel to find a safe haven to settle and becoming even more unflexible than right in this moment: a couple years ago there was no room for such thinking, but obviously I was also never an existentialist to follow in Rimbaud or Sartres footsteps.

And to pay simple bills, rent a place, buy a record or get a bottle of wine you need some bucks, many other things though, might come for free or a bargain, when you are not one of this dudes/dudettes, that need everything still sealed in shrink wrap and with this exciting and chemical "NEW" odour.

The good will

So after I graduated in December 2015 I hit hard rock bottom of reality, having a lot going on in the direction I studied – working in nature conservation (as a student for free), in a system that is based on exploitation and ever growing expansion and profit rates, that doesn´t seem to have (too much) jobs available, where I exactly fit in. Lots of applications are written since then, lots of low paid jobs (next stop circus, nah not a joke) were accepted and lots of mental lows are being crossed, but I am more than ever eager as a squirrel to stash some nuts for this and upcoming winter, to put my energy and good will into any kind of work, or project, that is concerned with nature conservation (if there is anybody who has some job opportunities gimme a shout), save some cute little lynx kittens or help to establish some bad ass wildlife nature reserves.

The babble I wrote you here on steemit is, what keeps me moving and reflects my inner beliefs (it is something about Karma, I guess, something, that some people deeply decline as esoteric bullshit, you know how this saying goes, that opinions are like buttholes...anyways...), after I started out when I was more or less too young, to make the right decisions. Which brought me directly into the fangs of the mean and evil newspaper/advertisement business with 21, which obviously was a pain in the ass, and has barely any to non sense, to learn and work in a field of occupation, that has no value for myself and society (I am talking about advertisement, and I don´t want to put quality journalism in the boat, which obviously help people to look behind the curtains of "what the heck is going on”).

The Beauty of live

For somebody seriously interested in the beautiful things in life (arts, culture, film, photography, music, literature, nature) obviously this are some of my favourite directions to focus on, which doesn´t have to be followed rather make sure you find out for yourself what rocks your boat, free after Krishnamurti:

"You must understand it (life), go into it, examine it, give your heart and your mind, with everything that you have, to find out a way of living differently. That depends on you, and not on someone else, because in this there is no teacher, no pupil; there is no leader; there is no guru; there is no Master, no Saviour. You yourself are the teacher and the pupil; you are the Master; you are the guru; you are the leader; you are everything. And to understand is to transform what is.”

A Journey which has just begun

So this is my quest, after being 34 now, working various pathways, studying intensively, traveling lots, reading literally hundreds of books about things that concern, move and bug, as well as entertain my body and soul. So what is this strange thing called LIFE all about: Let´s call some of the important topics: self reliance, love, hate, understanding, acceptance...where to head next, where to work, where to live, where to rest and where to find inner peace and fulfillment.

I am happy to be here and contribute on steemit, to offer some of my thoughts and beliefs, ways of inner mind sets, sometimes enerving, sometimes happy, funny and sometimes sad, share photos and experiences, that I made and really like to share of my trips, or somewhere else. Sometimes some philosophical insights, or books I read or records I listened (favourites: Prog, Kraut, Blues, Deep House, Techno, Ambient…like I said avid (means sick) music lover) and want to share with you or simply recommend. As well as giving hints and my point of view on life, how I broke free (and got captured again, before I break once more with the system), which I did when I quit my job in ´06 and sold all my belongings, to start out on a journey to find myself and my way. This continued pretty much til I finished studies in December, which lead me to similar questions, that I was confronted before, so it is obviously as I don´t have to tell you a way that neverends, til...well, til you reach the end of the path where the reaper awaits you, I guess :)...but then, who knows it for sure.

I am happy to read, see and get involved with you, about your opinions on life, society…what makes your world go round, in the sense of being free, of being on the traveling road. Whatever steemit has to offer as a wonderful alternative draft to Ego FB, and yeah apologies for my english, syntax and all might be a pain in the ass, due to the fact that I´m a bloody kraut by nature, but then, you are always free to quit reading this gibberish, ight.

Love, Peace and Happiness, rob.

Sort:  

Welcome my friend! @robrob! Happy steeming and happy u followed my advise to join. Excited to read more about your journeys and experiences!
C

Welcome to the gang. Reminds me of Robert Frost; the road not taken.

;)

Thanks mate :D. And to stay with wonderful Mr. Rob Frost: "Half the world is composed of people who have something to say and can't, and the other half who have nothing to say and keep on saying it." - I would say you can easily adopt Frosts words on every particular time in world history. That´s, I guess why we are here on steemit, because we have something to say, what actually can be (or is) meaningful and important to other fellow steemers. So happy steeming, folks.

Beautiful! Thank you so much for thoughts, article and pictures! You got my upvote! Maybe you'd be keen on my travelog too? Check it out:

http://steemit.com/@eric-boucher

Namaste :)

Hi Eric, thank you very much and Kudos for your wonderful articles and pictures here on steemit on Canada´s wild and rugged places, I spent almost 2 years there...and especially the Haida Gwaiis got me really hooked (lived for two months there off the grid - Simply fabulous). Can´t wait to be one day back again on CAN westcoast.

I like your pictures. Off the beaten path is always good in my book.

Yeah, thank you appreciate it. I took these pictures in the Amazon...

Very nice post

Thank you very much, soon to be continued...

Congratulations @robrob! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @robrob! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @robrob! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58972.92
ETH 2315.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50