The Experience of Own Body

in #experience6 years ago (edited)

Hello my dear steemian friends and followers!

It's been a while since my last post on Steemit. The people that followed up with me grew up in number, and I was curious how many of you out there like my articles..

Today, as the title obviously suggests, I've chosen to analyze the experience of the body from a phylosofic point of view.

The whole Cartesian tradition has accustomed us to separate ourselves from the object: reflexive attitude simultaneously purifies the common notion of body and soul, defining the body as a sum of inner parts and the soul as an immediate being. These correlative definitions establish clarity within and outside of us: transparency of a sinuous object, the transparency of a subject that is just what it thinks it is. An object is an object, part by part, the consciousness is consciousness, part by part. There are only two meanings of the word "existence": the existence as a thing and the existence as a quality of consciousness.

On the contrary, the experience of our own body reveals an ambiguous way of existence. If I try to think it as a bunch of third-person lawsuits - "view", "motricity", "sexuality" - I notice that these "functions" can not be linked to each other and to the outside world through causal relations, but are all resumed in a confusing way and involved in a unique drama. So the body is not an object and for the same reason, my consciousness about him is not a thought, that is, I can not decompose it and recompose it to get a clear idea about it. The body is always something other than what is always, sexuality and, at the same time freedom, rooted in nature, even when it is transformed by culture, never closed in itself and never outdated.

Whether it is the body of the other or my body, I have no other means of knowing the human body than living it, that is, resuming on its own the drama that crosses it and confuses me with it. So I am my body, at least as much as I have gained something, and reciprocal, my body is like a natural subject, as a provisional outline of my total being. Thus, the experience of our own body opposes the reflexive movement that separates the object from the subject matter and the other way around which gives us only the body thinking, not the experience of the body or body in reality.

These were my thoughts on phenomenology of perception and the experience of own body. I hope you like it and if you did, feel free to show your appreciation by upvoting it. Until next time, I wish you all the best and steem on!

image

Sort:  

Congratulations @benjy87! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @benjy87! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @benjy87! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64189.84
ETH 2796.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65