Bathing in the Copenhagen harbour

in #exercise6 years ago

Sometimes I write too long comments. Now I will rework one of them to a post! (Thanks to @shortcut who is full of questions.)

I have been cycling and swimming for the last month which is the reason I sometimes feel to tired to comment and post here on Steemit. The water is about 20°C right now which is warm in Danish terms and I bike every morning the five kilometres to Islands Brygge. The water of the harbour basin has for many years been clean and there is these floating wooden constructions that can be used for free.


This is the one use most often. Image from AOK

Sometimes they are closed after heavy rainfall, because the sewer has overrun. Then I go to the beach instead. The beach is just as close to where I live but it is easier to swim in a swimming lane that is 75 m. Then you always know exactly how long you have been swimming... silly really now I think of it, but I guess it is the same with people using step counters or running apps.


Here is the beach I am going to - Svanemøllestranden. Image from BT

The quality of the water can be checked on the internet: Here you can see today's water quality. The system is handled by an algorithm that is similar to the systems used for weather. It collects data and makes predictions based on the daily samples. If the system had to rely only on samples it would only be able to tell the water quality as it was three to four days ago. Now it is mainly heavy rain that makes the harbour polluted with coli-bacteria that is the problem.

The wooden installation above lies about 5 kilometres from where I live so that is a 15 minutes ride each way. It is open until the 30th of September and after that I suppose that the water will be quite a bit colder. But after this horrendously warm summer I am sure I will not be a problem. I do not mind to swim in very cold water.

I kind of touched about this subject before: Bathing in lukewarm water. In the post you can see the winter bathers using the children's pool.

Sort:  

We're lucky in that our little harbour out front is fairly shallow during the lower tides, so even though our bit of the Atlantic can get quite icey cold, or little harbour heats up nicely and at the right tide it's like bath water. A good place to sit and relax in between busy Summer day tasks and to do lists.

Sounds wonderful. Some day, when my city girl daughters move out in the world, I would like to go somewhere more rural.

I was bathing in Copenhagen two weeks ago, and it was so nice. I was down in Copenhagen again one week ago, the air temperature was much colder, I still saw lots of people swimming - but I also saw lots of jellyfish in the sea! That destroyed my wish to swim in the sea.

I don't mind jelly fish, but if you mean the burning variety it is very annoyning and can spoil a swimming completely.

There was a guy the other day on the beach who told me that there was tentacles in the water.

I don't mind jelly fish, but if you mean the burning variety it is very annoyning and can spoil a swimming completely.

It looked like the burning variety, so I stayed out of the water, eventually I saw the sauna instead ... :-)

In that case I understand that you didnøt jump in - sometimes they blow into from North or South. Good thing that it opened for an alternative experience :)

I miss Copenhagen so much, something in me cannot wait to come back to Denmark and be in that amazing city once again:) Sommeren skulle vaere warm har jeg hoert! (har engelsk tastatur lige nu..)

Skriv når du er her - så giver jeg en bajer :) Sommeren har været sindsyg varm!

Saa laenge bajeren er kold! haha !

Mon ikke det skulle være muligt at finde sådan en.

Bathing in lukewarm water? I would find 20C refreshingly cool. Here in Vienna, the Old Danube is 26.8C right now.
The beach could use some clean-up (seaweed).
About long stories in comments: I am also guilty at times - should post them instead and supply a link (like, tutorials and art history lessons etc).
.... btw, we used to have a surf spot right downtown in Vienna:

I think that the temperature at the time of writing was 23-24C which is very warm in these waters. It is I suppose very much a question about what you are used to. 20C is nice and I also like it colder right until the point where you can feel the body seeping heat away to the sea. As for seaweed it was almost free of it when I was there the other day. Not sure if they tidy the beach - it's an upper class neighbourhood so I wouldn't be surprised :)

If the comment can bear to be a post, it deserves to be a post. Social Media is such a weird way of communicating and collecting things in a post is making things more clear.

A trickfilm, but still funny:

Dynamite Surfing: this is NUTS! (idk if I ever was that nuts when I was that age)
Cold water: you would like it at the river Schwarza in Austria, the area where my friend Peter Gric lives - he dives in there, but I cannot even get my feet in, they go numb immediately!
Seaweed: there are machines that do the job. They usually would early in the morning.
At the Old Danube here we have problems with water plants, particularly in this heat. They mow tons of it on a steady basis.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50