The excuses we troll ourselves with (co-authored by@gavvet and @papasmurf)

in #excuses8 years ago (edited)

"HOW HARD CAN IT BE?"

I have often heard this phrase, be it at home, among friends or in the work place. People often neglect to learn something new because they are lazy and use this phrase to excuse their laziness to learn something new...

Now don't get me wrong even I was one of these people mainly when it came to using this site but , I have a very persistent friend and so I decided to give my writing skills a try.

"BUT WHY SHOULD I?"


When we neglect to learn something new , we are in essence robbing ourselves of knowledge and often robbing ourselves of time or money.

WHAT I LEARNED

Today I learned how to replace a clutch, frustrating doesn't begin to describe. To give you an idea... HOW I FELT WHEN IT ALL BEGAN

BUT THINGS GOT BETTER

....... 16 hours later.........

I work a 10 hour (manual labor day), as a repairman's apprentice, for the equivalent of $210 a month. I've known about steemit for a couple of weeks. I've been hearing about my friends "making bank" for a bit now...

You would think I would have jumped at the opportunity to do some smart work for a change.

Well here it is, my attempt at some smart work instead of just excusing myself because "I am too tired" from all the hard work.

I don't consider myself much of a writer and I suppose that is the greatest hindrance... the excuses we tell ourselves when we feel uncertain...

Here's to trying something new and getting over mental self trolling.

Sort:  

Well here it is, my attempt at some smart work instead of just excusing myself because "I am too tired" from all the hard work.

I don't consider myself much of a writer and I suppose that is the greatest hindrance... the excuses we tell ourselves when we feel uncertain...

So much truth is spoke here, fundamentals truths that is, which all of us are facing as writers. This must be true whether or not one's consider himself a writer or not. Every reasons not to write is surely a good reason and then having those thoughts about expressing ourselves on paper, or in written form I should say, permeates on all other forms of self expression, and because as what Aristotle said: "We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit." these thought patterns become "us" without even "us" noticing.

My life has changed so much since I've began expressing myself on Steemit and once one starts. it takes more energy to slow down the momentum were riding on so to speak than to continue riding along!

The way I express myself, well so much has changed for me, I'm a changed man! We all are!

Steemit changes the world by chenging Us. Agree with you. And thanks the author for the post.

I wish you well on getting money from Steemit and do what matters in life, escaping the trap of working hard for a basic income! We don't need to become millionaires. Just the income that make us free so we can keep doing what we like, learn about new stuff and maybe travel more.

Great article!

Regards,

well stated gaitan. What i foresee happening is large groups of people becomming "guilds" so-to-speak. These people will be content creators of all demographics and walks of life...and they will support one anothers' work (and sometimes you may have competitor guilds attack eachother...though there is little incentive i can rationally see for it humans are not always rational).
these groups of allied professional and amateur content creators will band together into peer groups who will upvote content with which they want to be associated. over time these groups will be able to all go relatively add free and help oneanother ensure eachothers success (because an army of powerful content creating fish and dolphins essentially become megawhales who pay out to multiple "leader" accounts who act as the spearhead of their respective content creation movements.
this enables groups to support and work with those whom are considered e$TEEMed in their circles. now we have creative commons truly get legs..

I agree with you perspective. This is the reason I hold on to Steemit even though I made about 4 $ so far from writing. The bigger picture is what matters.

building acommunity always starts out slowly ;)

Oh before no time Steemit will skyrocket!

Which is why I made this cartoon :D

I think we do troll ourselves a lot. But I won't fucking stop until I get Cyrus some money. Please read this article. I upvoted you. Please consider upvoting my post. https://steemit.com/steemit/@brianphobos/an-olympian-needs-our-help-steemit-please-read-this-if-you-have-ever-been-passionate-about-something

Hey @gavvet !
Respect for writing. It's hard at first, but gets easier.
Would you consider featuring my work as well (if it's any good)?

Recently I did some bot satire: https://steemit.com/bot/@sulev/an-open-letter-to-bots-it-s-original-because-of-brackets
A short intro/explanation on cryptocurrrency : https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@sulev/learning-the-crypto-blockchain-an-introduction-to-cryptocurrencies
5 benefits of being a Steemit blogger: https://steemit.com/steemit/@sulev/steemit-s-unexpected-benefits-or-how-steemit-makes-us-better
LSD study: https://steemit.com/steemit/@sulev/acid-the-best-way-to-write-the-best-steemit-post-and-being-a-better-person-in-general

Hope I'm not very annoying. I would think you get that request every second :)
Have great day!

You may not consider yourself a much of a writer, but the style of writing you just composed was very well written. Writing is as simple as you have just shown. :D Just put your thoughts down and go for it, only you are able to stop you from writing.

hehe..."fractal out". i dig it. ;)

Here's to trying something new and getting over mental self trolling.

Here's my 0.002 cents to you

210 per month is better than nearly 150 per month and doing it for about 12 hours. But the most important is we do it fairly and we are not making easy money out of illed work. :) Godbless to the author.

This is how i feel after one week of steemit :

I think it was lucky we could get a lot of money online, and does not need to work hard.

It is interesting to try yourself in something new, but sometimes people lose their opportunities because of their lazyness. It is a pity. Thanks for your minds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60728.87
ETH 2661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50