EVANGELISM: GETTING YOUR HEAD RIGHT - @narrowminded at the MEN OF GOD 2012 Men's Conference

in #evangelism8 years ago

Some years ago, I ran a couple of men's conferences up in Wisconsin.

I MC'd the events and ended up speaking at each of them. This is my session from the first one in 2012, and after the brief introduction clips, I'll be sharing about evangelism.

The video quality is not the best, but the audio should be sufficient. The total runtime is just over 53 minutes, so check it out sometime when you have a free hour. I've grown a lot in the Lord since then, but what I share back then is pretty solid and accurate, and I pray that it will be a blessing to you.





If you watch the video, please let me know what you think, and I thank you in advance for your time. It takes me a little bit to get over my nervousness and get down to business, but once I get rolling, it get's pretty good!

A special thanks to @noganoo too for uploading this video for me some years back! I truly love you @noganoo and hope you're staying in the word.

If you are one who likes to follow along while you listen, here is the information from the handout for that session:

(This was from back in my NKJV days, so the scripture cited will reflect that.)

And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” ROMANS 12:2

##LAST WORDS
Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations…” MATTHEW 28:19a

…Go into all the world and preach the gospel to every creature.” MARK 16:15b

and that repentance and remission of sins should be preached in His name to all nations, beginning at Jerusalem.” LUKE 24:47


GOD’S 2 Part Growth Plan

  1. Believers should preach the Gospel
  2. Believers should teach those who accept the Gospel to become Disciples

###GOD’S OPTION B

###SATAN’S 2 Part Prevention Plan

  1. Prevent you from becoming saved
  2. If plan 1 fails, do everything possible to prevent you from taking anyone with you

And I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; neither shall anyone snatch them out of My hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; and no one is able to snatch them out of My Father’s hand. I and My Father are one.” JOHN 10:28-30

HOLY SPIRIT

Who also has sealed us and given us the Spirit in our hearts as a guarantee.” 2 CORINTHIANS 1:22

Now He who has prepared us for this very thing is God, who also has given us the Spirit as a guarantee.
2 CORINTHIANS 5:5

In Him you also trusted, after you heard the word of truth the gospel of your salvation; in whom also, having believed, you were sealed with the Holy Spirit of promise, who is the guarantee of our inheritance until the redemption of the purchased possession, to the praise of His glory.” EPHESIANS 1:13-14

Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and YOU ARE NOT YOUR OWN?” 1 Corinthians 6:19 (Emphasis added)

If you love Me, keep my commandments. And I will pray the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may abide with you forever- the Spirit of Truth” JOHN 14:15-17a

But you shall receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you; and you shall be witnesses to me in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.” ACTS 1:8

And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, by who you were sealed for the day of redemption.” EPHESIANS 4:30

Do not quench the Spirit.” THESSALONIANS 5:19


EZEKIEL

For you are not sent to a people of unfamiliar speech and of hard language, but to the house of Israel, not to many people of unfamiliar speech and of hard language, whose words you cannot understand…” EZEKIEL 3:5-6a

START WHERE YOU ARE

Proclaim the good news of His salvation from day to day.” – PSALM 96:2b

When I say to the wicked, ‘You shall surely die,’ and you give him no warning, nor speak to warn the wicked from his wicked way, to save his life, that same wicked man shall die in his iniquity; but his blood I will require at your hand. Yet, if you warn the wicked, and he does not turn from his wickedness, nor from his wicked way, he shall die in his iniquity; but you have delivered your soul.” EZEKIEL 3:18-19

When I say to the wicked, ‘O wicked man, you shall surely die!’ and you do not speak to warn the wicked from his way, that wicked man shall die in his iniquity; but his blood I will require at your hand.” EZEKIEL 33:8


PAUL

Paul was compelled by the Spirit, and testified to the Jews that Jesus is the Christ. But when they opposed him and blasphemed, he shook his garments and said to them, “Your blood be upon your own heads; I am clean.” ACTS 18:5b-6a

Therefore I testify to you this day that I am innocent of the blood of all men.” ACTS 20:26

Was God just picking on Ezekiel? Was Paul’s desire to be free of the blood of all men just a misconception that Paul had?


BLOOD FREE LIST
1.___________________________________________
2.___________________________________________
3.___________________________________________
4.___________________________________________
5.___________________________________________
6.___________________________________________
7.___________________________________________
8.___________________________________________
9.___________________________________________
10.__________________________________________


Son of man, I have made you a watchman for the house of Israel; therefore hear a word from My mouth, and give them warning from me.” EZEKIEL 3:17

Then Jesus said to the twelve, ‘Do you also want to go away?’ But Simon Peter answered Him, ‘Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life.” JOHN 6:67-68

Moreover it is required in stewards that one be found faithful.” 1 CORINTHIANS 4:2

Imitate me, just as I also imitate Christ.” 1 CORINTHIANS 11:1

Him we preach, warning every man and teaching every man in all wisdom, that we may present every man perfect in Christ Jesus.” COLOSSIANS 1:28 (God’s 2 part plan)


GOD DOES NOT WANT PEOPLE TO DIE IN THEIR SINS

Say to them: ‘As I live,” says the Lord GOD, ‘I have no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but that the wicked turn from his way and live. Turn, turn from your evil ways!...” EZEKIEL 33:11a

The Lord is … longsuffering toward us, not willing that any should perish but that all should come to repentance.” 2 PETER 3:9b

The Old Saying “If you don’t have anything good to say, don’t say anything at all.”

New Saying “If you have the best thing to say, why settle for anything less?”

But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves.” JAMES 1:22

Therefore, to him who knows to do good and does not do it, to him it is sin.” JAMES 4:17


WIN WIN WIN SITUATIONS - WITNESSING

  1. You plant a seed – WIN!
  2. The person gets saved – WIN
  3. The person persecutes you and rejects the Gospel-WIN!

Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
MATTHEW 5:10

So they departed from the presence of the council, rejoicing that they were counted worthy to suffer shame for His name. And daily they were in the temple, and in every house, they did not cease teaching and preaching Jesus as the Christ.” ACTS 5:41-42

  • Convenient EXCUSES

  • REPENT Get your head right

  • SPIRITUAL GIFTS VS. ACTS OF OBEDIENCE

  • 1 CORINTHIANS Chapters 12 & 14

  • PHILIPPIANS 1:15-18

  • EPHESIANS 4:11

  • ROMANS 12:6-8

  • LEAST DESIRED – Despised and Rejected

How then shall they call on Him in whom they have not believed? And how shall they believe in Him of whom they have not heard? And how shall they hear without a preacher?” ROMANS 10:14


OPTION B: DO IT HIMSELF

So shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth; It shall not return to Me void, but it shall accomplish what I please, and it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it.” ISAIAH 55:11

For the word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts of and intents of the heart.” HEBREWS 4:12

PRACTICE

BATTLE - WE GAIN AMMUNITION!

EARNING THE RIGHT

TRAIN TRACKS

“THE JERK” - PENN

CAR CRASH – POINT OF STILL BEING HERE

TIMELINE

COMFORT ZONE

Therefore be imitators of God as dear children.” – EPHESIANS 5:1

BE AN ANSWER TO PRAYER

Then He said to them, ‘The harvest truly is great, but the laborers are few; therefore pray the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into His harvest.’” – LUKE 10:2

CHILDREN “I learned it from watching you!”

Lead by example

LOT

LIFESTYLE EVANGELISM

TRACTS

CURE is for the SICK – MATTHEW 9:12

GRACE TO THE HUMBLE- LAW TO THE PROUD


FIRST WORDS

Follow me and I will make you fishers of men.” MATTHEW 4:19b
Follow me and I will make you become fishers of men.” MARK 1:17b

WHY DID JESUS CALL YOU? Are you sure?

JESUS IS NOT JUST FOR YOU, HE IS FOR ALL

LEARN TO SHARE HIM

He who wins souls is wise.” PROVERBS 11:30b


##GOD’S 2 Part Growth Plan

1) Believers should preach the Gospel

2) Believers should teach those who accept the Gospel to become Disciples


markcahill.org
evantell.com
livingwaters.com
chick.com
wayofthemaster.com
bibletracts.org
customtractsource.com
crossway.org
fellowshiptractleague.org
atstracts.org
onemilliontracts.com
tracts4U.org
libertygospeltracts.com
tractleague.com
bibletractsinc.org
worldviewweekend.com
answersingenesis.org
icr.org
christianbook.com
goodtest.net


2+2=4

Thanks, @narrowminded

Sort:  

Wow, you did well my friend. Hot, as apposed to "luke warm" :)

So much of what you covered are things we all should know and I believe most do, but of course it's easier to just not think about it.. "Luke Warm"

This was 2012 I hope you share some of your more recent sermons. I listened this morning while setting up a server and it was very enjoyable...

Thanks for sharing :)

Yeah, I've shared some more since then.

This one was a good listen though, I always enjoy it.

Luke warm is not where it's at, unless you like vomit!

Errm, I felt it encouraged us to get hot not luckwarm, perhaps I didn't express myself well...

Revelation 3:16

He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches.
And unto the angel of the church of the Laodiceans write;

These things saith the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the beginning of the creation of God; I know thy works, that thou art neither cold nor hot: I would thou wert cold or hot.

So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spue thee out of my mouth.

Because thou sayest, I am rich, and increased with goods, and have need of nothing; and knowest not that thou art wretched, and miserable, and poor, and blind, and naked:

I counsel thee to buy of me gold tried in the fire, that thou mayest be rich; and white raiment, that thou mayest be clothed, and that the shame of thy nakedness do not appear; and anoint thine eyes with eyesalve, that thou mayest see.

As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent.

narrow is the path in deed

Yeah, that vomit comment was based on that "spue thee out of my mouth" part.

I got the reference and knew what you meant.

Thanks @majes.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Great post! I'm featuring it in today's "spotlight" segment.

Good choice, and THANKS Brother!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63632.98
ETH 2727.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58