The Journey : Day 336 : 365 Days Of Writing.

in #eu-africa6 years ago


Source

"Dad?, are we ever going get through this?"
The despair in her eyes made me less than a man, How dare I looked into her eyes and said yes.
"Yes, sweetheart, you know what? "
"What? "
"Mom is waiting for us some miles away, so wipe your tears little girl and let's pull through this together"
"Yes daddy" she dropped one more tears on my shoulder but the thickness of my sweater wouldn't let it sink into my flesh, but I felt it, that invincible doubt and fear, I could feel the pang of death staring into the face of my little girl and I wish I could do more than wipe her tears away, I wish above all that this time will pass and we'll be ok.

Holding her by the shoulder while maintaining separation, the days were getting darker and we just have to move. The military has tried all they could to make this an easy thing for us all, they've moved majority of the people out of the state, but staying in the innermost part of the woods like a rabbit has earned us this punishment cum fresh air. The rate at which half an entire state got wiped out in one night courtesy of what we don't know sounds creepy to anyone who might be reading this, seeing the dead bodies stiff, some with mouth wide open, other were just in there inertial state makes one begin to wonder who and what was mankind's offence. Or will I rather say, to balance the scale of accusation, what did we do to ourselves and why.

The fog can be seen at far distance and we've managed to move through several times to bring food home, watching a police resting quietly on the way tilting his body against the car trunk like a drunk driver, seeing the other one resting still in the car. They all feigned a peaceful and calm state, why won't they, there is peace in death.

The day I left my daughter at home and went scavenging for food, coming back and couldn't find her was horrific for me. We been through drills on how to stay safe alone and she has shown to be smarter than me, so my mind was at rest at first tillI searched everything and everywhere for days and couldn't find my girl. I went from a calm father to the most disillusioned dragon. Each one of her words ringing in my ears and haunting me.

"Dad?, are we ever going to get through this?".
I assured her once again,
"Sure my sweetheart, we will"
But instead of my girl comforting me now, it's Kimi doing that, the girl I met in this mess, she has curled up herself by the street corner, never cared to ask how she made it alive, but she became my partner. And we continued the journey my daughter couldn't.

|•|•|•|•|•|•|•|•|•|•|•|•|


A #365daysofwriting for @mydivathings.

|•|•|•|•|•|•|•|•|•|•|•|•|•|

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38