❓ New poll: Is it really "reward pool rape" ❓

in #ethics6 years ago

There have been many posts discussing "reward pool rape."

  • I've been reading all such posts I run across,
    • trying to figure out what I actually believe about the subject...

I would like to point out one major point,
I've never seen mentioned in posts like this...

  • And this point is why I'm still on the fence about maybe there should be no limits to upvoting one's own posts...

I would like to add this post to the discussion.

  • Please comment below to let me know if there is a flaw in my logic!

cop-1016218_640.jpg

Image Source

Hypothesis 1)

  • A person can upvote 10 posts a day at full voting power and remain close to 100% voting power
    • Agree?

Hypothesis 2)

  • A person has the "right" to upvote 10 posts a day.
    • Some might say it's almost a responsibility to find quality posts and comments to upvote, so the Steemit universe will become a better place, by rewarding those who produce such content, giving them incentive to continue to post even more quality content. (Sometimes I just have to do a long runon sentence like that... A quirk of mine... haha sorry!)
      • Agree?

Hypothesis 3)

  • If they do upvote 10 posts a day,
    • it affects the reward pool distribution by the total amount of voting power x steem power x # of posts.
      • Agree?

My main point of this post...

Why is it "raping the rewards pool" only if they upvote themselves?

  • If instead of upvoting themselves, they upvoted others,
    • your rewards pool payout would remain constant.
      • The only people directly affected by where their vote lands are the posts they decide to upvote.

My conclusion:

The term raping the reward pool is a misnomer.

  • call them a greedy sumbitch or whatever term you like,
    • but regardless of if the votes go to themselves or someone else,
      • it will not affect your rewards pool payout
      • so, it's not really "raping the reward pool."
  • Is it?

Here's the poll:

Please comment below!!!

  • completely disregard the ethics of upvoting your own posts
    and making huge sums of money... 💰
    • Do you agree or disagree with the logic of this post?
      • 👍 If you agree, can you think of a better term than "raping the reward pool?"
      • 👎 If you disagree, please show me the flaw in my logic!!!

WizNote: I have inch thick rhinoceros skin, so you will not hurt my feelings by disagreeing with me!

wizsmall.png
Who I am

@WizarDave
Sort:  

Here's where I start with any of this, including reward pool abuse:

There are no rules on Steemit beyond the code. Whatever the code permits is possible.

Until the code changes, then anything goes.

So, there is no such thing as reward pool abuse, except in the minds of those who claim it exists.

Now, having said that, I also believe in getting along. I'd like to think I'd do that with 725 SP, 7,250 SP, 72,500 SP or 725,000 SP. That is, I wouldn't upvote myself, ever. Instead, I would upvote as many good posts and comments as I could with as much as I felt I should.

I know I am happiest here when I do that (along with getting more than $.50 for my own posts, $.05 for comments).

I know I am deflated when I am limited in that (price of STEEM goes low).

However, if that's not how I felt about how I should operate here, I'd be free to do exactly as others have done: post as much as I want, build my followers, build my SP, ask/receive delegation and get upvoted by as many whales, orcas, dolphins, minnows and plankton as possible, all while self-upvoting and using votebots.

I don't think anyone owes anyone else anything here. There's no social contract to sign. There's no obligation to do anything. I might feel responsibility in one way or another, but I am not compelled to any of it. It is not coded that I must participate in anyway other than I choose to.

Dang, would you Leyescan.gifK at that.

  • with the price drop, my vote isn't even worth a penny anymore...
    • even at 98.73 voting power...

I agree with you @glenalbrethsen.
The only "law" is what is hardwired into the code.

  • The rest of the "rules" are simply opinions.
    • This is anarchy to a point, and some don't like the results of that...

I think your outlook about how you use your votes will result in your long term success here on Steemit.

  • I think those who appear greedy, will lose followers
  • And those like you who are giving, will gain followers.

So, I'll mark your comment up as agreeing with my logic, kinda since we both agree with your remark...

there is no such thing as reward pool abuse

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87