You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Familial pride

in #ethics7 years ago

Nesting limit reached on your last comment.

Thank you for allowing me the 'last word'. (although it doesn't have to be).

I have to say, your world is a sad and unpleasant place, and I'm glad I don't live in it.

In my country what ultimately happens when you don't pay your taxes? (and this is really scary) I thought similar stuff to you - that the government will stomp on you with big boots. but as I found out when my wife was working for the Inland Revenue Department, their position is - 'we can't actually force you to pay taxes'. So if you don't pay, they just shrug their shoulders and move on.

In terms of compliance, their goal is to get the big companies to pay their share, and if the smaller fish are not paying their taxes, then find out why.

I was astonished when I found out that I don't actually have to pay taxes.
And yet i still pay taxes, because I understand and accept the reasons for them.

So my 'last word' would be that I disagree with your arguments. Not because I am stupid or naive, but because my life experience, situation and outlook is different.

I'm assuming you live in the US, and from what I have seen and heard of life there, I can fully understand why you think and feel the way you do. It is not a country I would willingly chose to live in.

But the experience of a US citizen is not the experience of everyone else, and I would encourage you to travel beyond your borders and see how the rest of the world lives with your own eyes, before branding us as 'all the same'.

The word after the last word, is yours :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65046.03
ETH 3451.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55