You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is the INFORMATION WAR?

in #ethics5 years ago (edited)

Click to watch 2 hours (or just check out the first 10 minutes),

I disagree that "sensemaking can't be simplified" (the three rules of civil debate are quite simple) and I disagree that debates are always better "face to face" (and or always counter-productive (you just need better rules)), I also disagree with his attempt to contrast "truth" and "truthfulness". I think what he calls "truthfulness" is better described as "sincerity" (and of course, sincerity does not equal truth).

It also reminds me of "truthiness" which describes a statement that "feels true" and is thus accepted as true without proper examination.

They also neglected to point out the very important danger of inadvertently forming a "cult of personality". By revealing their face and name, I believe there is a strong human tendency to "trust" a person (instead of one specific idea at a time) uncritically (100%) after an initial skepticism.

I also liked their theme of "coherence", I'm a huge fan of this.

HOwever, every time I hear someone say "objective" or "unbiased" my logiczombie sense throws a huge red flag.

Sort:  

@ 9:45 ''Í don't want them to defer their sense making to me...…….'' resonates with me so strongly.

Have been following Rebel Wisdom for quite a while but I missed this one, thanks.

I am really enjoying the process of understand you

Never have faith in my words (or anyone else's).

Find the logical errors (and fallacies).

Search for coherence.

I also enjoy reading your comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60699.16
ETH 2352.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52