Copyright. Doing the right thing. Will it pay off?

in #ethics8 years ago (edited)

So I noticed there is money to be made in taking "curation" to the next level

I'm no lawyer, I thought, so I decided to post some photos from one of my favourite photographers, give him credit and a link, and wait for the votes to come in. They didn't. And it's right they didn't.

A couple of very respectful critics chimed into the comments to slap me on the wrist. I took my medicine, deleted the images pronto.... and now 5 minutes after a rush of cynicism to the head, I'm changing my ways.
From now on, unless I have very good reason, the only high res images I'll be posting will be my own.

But the pill is a bitter one to swallow when some users are making huge returns from displaying other peoples creative work.

The user @masteryoda has been heavily flagged, but the votes keep piling in. Why?

What can be done about this? I'm not sure, but I suggest people proudly write "ORIGINAL WORK" in their titles. You've worked hard, you deserve to be proud of your original content.

Regardless, I've made up my mind. Apart from the occasional cheeky meme, I'm on the straight and narrow from here on in. Any Upvotes I get, I want to feel good about them.

Fuck cheating. Cheating is for the weak.

More on this subject:

https://steemit.com/steemitabuse/@corinnestokes/re-posting-other-peoples-photos-videos-on-steemit-fair-use-vs-commercial-use#@masteryoda/re-masteryoda-re-corinnestokes-re-posting-other-peoples-photos-videos-on-steemit-fair-use-vs-commercial-use-20160723t173411475z

https://steemit.com/mediachain/@jessewalden/what-if-steemit-could-tell-you-the-original-creator-of-an-image-or-article

Some of my original photography...
https://steemit.com/art/@condra/black-sheeple
https://steemit.com/travel/@condra/a-day-up-the-mountains-with-irelands-alt-models

Huge love for all of you Steemians

Stay the course. xx

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59467.52
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38