You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Supporting Organizations Can Be Hard In A World That's Not Black & White

in #ethics7 years ago

This is the same dilemma I'm always in when I see people collecting to save someone's life. Some show you pictures while some take the actual sick person (mostly children... Everyone likes kids) with a swollen part of their body quite visible. I've heard stories of the children just used to collect the money and later sent to where ever they were taken from. This makes me wonder who to give or not to give. When I don't give I feel guilty and when I do give, I wonder if it's being put to good use. Unfortunately we live in a world of uncertainty and until that changes (if it will), I'll do what my gut tells me at any given moment. I think you just said the minds of most people.

Sort:  

Unfortunately, the type of charity scams happen way too often. They are rampant here in Bulgaria, too. One of the worst things I know about is when homeless beggars actually have managers who collect their "earnings" under the threat of violence. That's why I'm sometimes weary of leaving them money, but I'm always happy to buy them a meal as this is something that cannot be stolen from them at the end of the day.

We should always do our due diligence before giving, but this shouldn't mean we never give. After all, everything comes with its own risks in this world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54864.63
ETH 2298.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30