It's called Ethical Emergence. Let's help each other.

in #ethical5 years ago (edited)

There is three main constraints when it comes to Project Management. Time (Schedule), Cost (Budget) and Scope (Quality). Most "experts" suggest you can have two of the three.
Faster delivery and higher quality... but the budget will increase.

For much of my career in construction I demonstrated that a savvy PM can get all three. This is what made me a hot commodity and made my employers and clients a lot of money . They also received a lot of respect and other benefits. However, I had ethical difficulties conducting business they way the system was set up. I won't mention all the distasteful things I saw, suffice to say, construction is a very tough and rough business. Especially in the big cities. In nearly all cases the ones creating the value got a small fraction of it, while the government, power broker, administrative types took the lions share. I put millions, tens, hundreds, of millions of dollars in the pockets of the wrong people. While the little guys got pennies. I just didn't like it. So I retired early. At 38.

Needless to say, that began me on the path to what I now call Ethical Emergence. I want to help the little guy, I want to help the principled guy. The creative and innovative guy. I want to help the honest guy create value and put that value in their pocket. Recognizing that value goes far beyond just money. However, money is a useful one as a traceable incentive. And honestly, easy, once all the necessary pieces are put together for a project.

Who wants that? Who deserves that? Who has the awesome project you'd like to see succeed? I want to know those people and I'd like my friends and associates help me find them. Because I'm offering my help to make that a reality. I want people, especially people who hold themselves to higher standards, like the NAP (kinda a minimum for me), to be super successful. I'm confident I know a way.

It's called Ethical Emergence. Let's help each other.

pagebreak.jpeg

I strive to be a Peacemaker, an Entrepreneur and a Ambassador for Great Ideas (ie a Problem solver). I also wish to be a Poet, a Mentor and an Ethicist one day. At times I struggle to communicate the passions I have but I endeavor to do so meaningfully from my heart to others. All as I enjoy my life as a never-ending vacation in a place I adore. I care about what I do, I care about the people I do it with and I leave the rest to fall into place. ~ MikeonFire

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Using a Construction project as an example. I can point out some of the potential benefits of Ethical Emergence and even further the benefits it would have as technology like smart contracts are employed.

In this example I demonstrate the experiences I had within the industry and how I was able to employ the work of Edward Demming. Which led to my exceptional results. Schedule reduced 50%. Profits increased 4x. Quality improved significantly.

However, with the knowledge I've collected now, I feel it can be far greater. And with smart contracts, even more so. It could provide a system to track and verify where value actually is being created, as well as incentivize those doing it. It's a very powerful idea that anyone who is an entrepreneur or has managed projects will find very interesting.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Ds1g1xhoeJPKwEtgrvH97vNy6aP3M1s4KfL3ExMkvYc/edit?usp=sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66