Meanwhile: Bitcoin full, Ethereum forked unintended

in #ethereum7 years ago (edited)

Bitcoin

From the last link:

 1. Write spam script using an HD wallet (easy with Electrum daemon). Mimic natural txs with random values and fees within chosen constraints.
 2. Make a deal with 1 or more miners to refund fees on spam txs. Give miner the wallet xpub and a script to sum tx fees in their own blocks.
 3. ...
 4. Push political agenda while LOL.

I'd say, this week turned into something really interesting!

Ethereum

While Bitcoin struggles with "the load" (where ever it comes from), our friends
at Ethereum had a successful hard fork this week but today ran into unintended
forks due to implementation differences:

Nick Johnson:

There's an unintentional fork between Geth and Parity. We're aware of
the root cause and are working on a fix. There's no emergency fork,
just a software update required to Geth nodes.

Update - Thu Nov 24 17:41:10 CET 2016

Ethereum probably needs to rollback:

Nick Johnson:

You shouldn't have to resync, but the blocks on the geth side of the
fork are non-canonical, and won't exist any longer. The block number of
the fork is #2686351.

Nick Johnson:

Actually, this would literally be the first rollback ever, to the best
of my knowledge.

Steem

Major changes upcoming here aswell, though intended and heavily discussed
changes with the option for shareholders to deny the hard fork.

BitShares

Nothing really going on, except for the first blockchain to reach 10MM blocks (11MM by now) :)

Sort:  

nikzh Nikita Zhavoronkov tweeted @ 24 Nov 2016 - 09:02 UTC

Median #Bitcoin transaction fee by week over the last 2 years (in BTC and USD). A 3× rise in USD since the beginnin… twitter.com/i/web/status/8…

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Cryptoland is pretty dramatic..

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Any interesting plans for #Bitshares in the near future?

Hello xeroc, I saw your make an upvote bot in 10 lines of code post. I was wondering if there are any posts summarizing it for someone who has never coded or used python. (I'm gonna buy a book on python tomorrow). I was also wondering if their is a specific article on how to program a set of bots that upvotes what you upvote. I like the idea of eventually having a set of bots at my disposal that automatically upvote quality posts in the music category without my help, to bring attention to some of the artists who I think make good content. I hope there is, please let me know.

Thanks! I've already learned a few basic commands, I'll take a look after school.

@xeroc Followed and voted! You follow me @Sandra16

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04