Is Ethereum Dead?

in #ethereum6 years ago

What is wrong with Ethereum?

I just recently started using Ethereum because I found some cool Dapps I wanted to explore.

The ideas behind it are great and I found them very interesting, especially 0xuniverse.

I bought a couple things in each game and started playing. This was my first time using a Dapp.

I must say after just a couple days of using Ethereum I find it almost unusable.

I've used plenty of coins before for transactions and Ethereum is not only the most confusing to use but it was also the worst performer for the highest price.

I remember when Bitcoin went through it's phase with high transaction fees and long confirmation times but Ethereum was so much worse.

With Ethereum I never knew if a transaction was going to be confirmed and if it didn't I was left checking Etherscan over and over to make sure I wasn't charged a fee for a failed transaction.

If they ever get the network fixed I would love to use the Dapps they have built but until then I find most Dapps unplayable.

It's a shame because Ethereum looks so good but in reality I found it lacking and quickly switched back to using BTC & LTC until they iron out the wrinkles.

Anybody have a similar experience with Ethereum? Let me know in the comments.

Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

It is certain

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Ethereum gets expensive and slows up a lot if there is a lot of activity. It's the Grand Old Lady of the DLedgers and so it will take a while for it to catch up to newer more agile chains like EOS, Tron, Universea, Hashgraph or Red Belly.

To see how congested the network is and how much it will cost go to https://ethgasstation.info/. if the standard price is above 25Gwei I usually won't bother to use the network. Ideally I'd like it to be less than 10

The gas gets too high when people flock. It has died down a little today. I have a feeling dapps are going to use multiple metamask type plug ins, and most likely multiple cryptos for each game. Ethereum was the first of its kind and will always have some use. It does need to be cheaper tho, and I think it will get there. It will also get to its ATH, when just depends on some scaling and discussions. All the newer smart coins that want to destroy it, also pretty much owe their ERC20 ICO gotten market caps to ETH.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70