You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 3 Reasons Why Ethereum Is On The Move

in #ethereum7 years ago

I agree that in relation to bitcoin cash ethereum is undervalued. One thing that is really nice about bitcoin is its polished nature. For everyday users ethereum is cumbersome. I mine the coin, but I don't have a fundamental trust of the wallet software like I do with any of the more polished and well tested bitcoin wallets. I have tried just about all of them and end up having to use a sketchy looking website to open up my key store file. The official wallet crashes while loading the blockchain. Other wallets are command line based.

This isn't a problem that is only challenging ethereum. Other coins like monero have terrible wallet software. While it may be a great technology a more polished end-user experience will lead to more acceptance. At least my .02 cents.

The speed of ethereum is awesome! I can't believe how fast it confirms most of the time. And the programmability is very cool. I see much potential. I just hope the developers will build some better tools for end users.

Sort:  

Sure the speed seems fine now, but did you try sending money during the ICO madness? The congestion was so bad it took me half a day to send ETH.

I remember reading about a gas limit increase. I haven't experienced a slow confirmation speed yet, but so far I have only transmitted my mining income to a wallet and then some to exchanges. I'm glad I haven't experienced one of those slowdowns yet. My worst was a BTC transaction using electrums highest fee taking 2 days. I ended up pushing it using child pays for parent. What a pain.

But honestly compared to an ACH transaction it is amazing! Even wire transfers are frustrating. I made a wire transfer for $800 from chase to coinbase awhile ago and got grilled for 10 minutes on the phone by an angry sounding New York based Chase employee even though I had sent many transactions in the past to the same account. It finally sent 8 hours later.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61135.20
ETH 2928.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66