You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Code is Law and Old Testament Gods

in #ethereum8 years ago

Great write up. I've been really fascinated with the morality of artificial intelligence and put together a pindex board with some stuff I've been reading/watching along with a post here on Steemit about it. I think the automation that's coming will force humanity to figure out what we want morality to actually be. More than that, I think superintelligence (if we survive it) will help us understand ourselves and the morality we want. It will be able to analyze utility at levels we can't current conceive of. All it needs is mass amounts of data, super fast computers, and more people like Nick Bostrom and Ray Kurzweil to continue innovating and helping us think through the challenges we're going to face.

Know thyself indeed. Humanity has to figure this stuff out well enough to write it into code.

Sort:  

Haha that was fun to read

@lukestokes If we survive it is an if I wish we would be smart enough to avoid. But I doubt we'll be that smart. I'm mostly convinced we'll all die because some asshole creats an AI and 'turns it on' and it goes Skynet and kills us.

If you're seriously interested in this stuff, give Nick Bostrom's Superintelligence a read. That's the best thing I've seen on the topic so far. I also enjoyed The Master Algorithm by Pedro Domingos. If you're curious on the morality of A.I. stuff, check out this post which links to a lot more info.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44