AMD Releases Special Driver for Cryptocurrency Mining

in #ethereum7 years ago (edited)

AMD and Nvidia started getting into the cryptocurrency world with releasing dedicated GPUs for mining.
Now AMD went futher - made a beta driver thats supossed to make mining more efficent.

Worth noting thats its currently Windows only.

The best results for this driver are on Ethereum currently.

From what ive read online performance on HashNice and Minergate also raises but try yourself and leave info in comments.

AMD Stocks


Since all those GPU mineable coins soared stocks of Nvidia and AMD are going good. You cna trade them on forex sites but also a fully anonymous forex that pays BTC - SimpleFX.

Follow, Resteem and VOTE UP @kingscrown creator of http://fuk.io blog for 0day cryptocurrency news and tips!

Sort:  

Will this mean that current mining contracts will reap even fewer benefits, as we're renting miners that are soon much slower than the new miners? I've seen a tremendous difficulty increase in Dash, I hope it won't get much lower...

Thanks for this information. I have to examine this further since I still use a multi-unit GPU 7950's on a Windows 10 machine and NiceHash. I would be curious to see the improvements even if it is minimal.

Found out about this just moments seeing this post. Now my AMD GPUs will rip them hashes even faster!

Thanks, @kingcrown, for the additional information!

Let us know if it works, please

I've been getting 21+ Mh/s from my AMD RX 580 4GB card running DaggerHashimoto with NiceHash. Would be nice to bump that up a little. It's generating about $1.50 a day but uses about 118 Watts for the card alone so thats maybe 50 cents a day for electricity and about a dollar profit.

Your RX 580 seem low....my Rx570 is doing 23.5Mh/s stock duel mode.

I am doing duel mode now, so a little better at $1.60 per day. Maybe I'll try the new driver sometime. Thanks for letting me know what rate you get!

You've made my day.

too low, i'm getting 23Mh ETH + 694.482 Mh/s DECR from a single 580. without OC or bios mod on my linux box.

GPU0 is my 580..the rest are overclocked 1060s

ETH - Total Speed: 104.636 Mh/s, Total Shares: 4522, Rejected: 0, Time: 54:04
ETH: GPU0 23.149 Mh/s, GPU1 20.425 Mh/s, GPU2 20.272 Mh/s, GPU3 20.363 Mh/s, GPU4 20.428 Mh/s
DCR - Total Speed: 1509.345 Mh/s, Total Shares: 14524, Rejected: 151
DCR: GPU0 694.482 Mh/s, GPU1 204.246 Mh/s, GPU2 202.716 Mh/s, GPU3 203.626 Mh/s, GPU4 204.275 Mh/s

Is your 580 the 4 GB or 8? Mine is 4, if that matters.

Are you saying your 580 is doing both ETH and DCR at the same time? If so, how do I find the setting to do that too?

use claymore duel miner

4GB (Saphire Nitro+). Use Claymore miner, it can mine some DCR without affecting ETH rates (i have similar on my 480 on windows but there i overclock) . Also i found with geth my cpu usage was high (on both linux and windows it seemed to chew up 1/2 core per gpu. so 4 gpus kept my 2 core cpu at nearly 100% until i switched miners. (with Claymore it went down to 5%. ).

Thanks for the information!

I'm hooked!

You've hit the mark.

This is pure brilliance.

You should be getting higher hashrates!

Just upgraded to https://github.com/nicehash/NiceHashMinerLegacy/releases/tag/1.8.1.1
Still just getting 21 but now it is doing duel mode and getting 0.6 on Decred, so earnings up to $1.60 a day butt graphic card Wattage is 148W. Not gonna be making a lot of money, but will use it to heat my room in the Winter :P

The chart in the article shows 25+ Mh/s for an RX 580 with 8 GB. Mine is just 4 GB so maybe that's why my rate is 21? Any tips or advice?

overclock using TRIXX or MSI AFTERBURNER

@ kenny-crane for mining do I need to use normal window machine or other dedicated machine?... I'm not very familiar with mining equipment... This is interesting...

I am using a Cyberpower gaming computer I got from Best Buy for $650. It runs Windows 10 and I mine with Nice Hash Miner v1.7.5.13 but there are newer versions out now that I will try. Good Luck!

Thanks for the info sharing... Really appreciated it...

I still remember the days when Nvidia used to be recognized more as a GeForce and CUDA. Huge leaps they have taken. AMD and NVIDIA are like the AirBus and Boeing of Graphic processing units!! But hey , the competition is what keeps us alive right?

Amazing, he is not only fixated on 1 ability. But he kept trying to expand his wings wide in order to achieve a better perfection of the best.

Hi @kingscrown, I have come up with an off-topic question for you, hope you don't mind it.

What is the best crypto trading/investing option for a beginner?

I did search in your previous posts but could not find one relevant to my question so I had to ask it here. I'll appreciate your help. Steem on!

Read ie my posts and buy coins suggested (also on http://fuk.io blog) i got most followers because i had good % of good predictions. But always - the risk is on you.

Risk is always associated with someone who lives it

Thanks @kingscrown. However, I was expecting some YouTube video or Steemit tutorial based article in this regard. Please share if you have written something like that. I will appreciate it.

Sucks about the actual stats not being in the 70-100 MH/s range. A friend mentioned maybe there will be another update to increase the MH/s. Don't get me wrong though, $399 for a card that get's 36MH/s is nice and I'd like to pick one up if I can find one.

Yes, but at 350+ watts for a single card you do have to factor in power costs.

This is great for people looking to mine with AMD cards, but I'm still concerned about Vega's wattage. Sure, they have higher hash rates than the Nvidia cards, but at the higher wattage the profit margin between your mining income and your electric bill could quickly close as difficulties increase and/or coin values decrease. I haven't really looked into heat output, but higher wattage cards often produce more heat than lower wattage cards.

At least for my individual situation, where heat and wattage are important, I'm really hoping to see an answer from Nvidia that allows similar hashrates closer to the lower TDP of something like a GTX 1070 or GTX 1080. Otherwise, I'll be looking forward to AMD's 2018 offerings and hoping they prove to be more efficient than Vega 64 and Vega 56.

but higher wattage cards often produce more heat than lower wattage cards.

This is always true. The power input is converted entirely to heat. More power in (higher Wattage) = more heat out.

I knew that, and probably could've chosen my words better. Higher wattage cards with better coolers can still run at equal (or lower) temperatures than lower wattage cards with weaker coolers, especially in some niche situations like tight cases or poor ventilation. This is what I was trying to allude to with the word "often" rather than "always." Perhaps I should've said that higher wattage cards will produce more heat, and the coolers may or may not do a good job at compensating adequately for every situation.

Keep in mind though a better "cooler" isn't really cooling. It's just better at dispersing heat away from your GPU and into the room. So high wattage will still affect the ambient temperature of the room they are in. The room I keep my mining rig in is always a few degrees warmer than the rest of the house.

This is also a good point to clarify. A higher wattage card will surely contribute to higher ambient temperatures. However, like you said, a dedicated mining rig can be put in another room.

As someone that mines on my main productivity/gaming rig when I'm not using it, I'm more concerned about package temperatures and heat soaking into other components. For example, a lot of modern motherboards have M.2 slots for solid state storage lined up behind where a dual slot graphics card might go. A cooler letting heat stick on the GPU or pushing it toward the SSD might affect the longevity of the SSD, but a cooler pushing heat out the back of the case or elsewhere in the case but away from the motherboard might be better for your other components. In this way, a cooler that disperses more heat into the room can be better for the components adjacent to the GPU.

The power consumption is the main problem with the RX Vega cards. That's why the miners have to look carefully before buying them. These cards have a pretty good hashrate, but the power consumption is quite concerning...

What motherboards have you tested? We are testing Asrock H110 Pro BTC+ 13GPU with XFX - AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB GPU's right now, and will see how many GPU's will work. Thanks for the driver info. Do you think we should be getting 29MH?

Very neat...good read for sure.

That is cool! AMD also will fly!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60009.56
ETH 3342.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42