iDice: When is an alleged “scam” not really a scam?

in #ethereum7 years ago (edited)

A few weeks ago, I bought tokens in the iDice (aka ICE at idice.io) crowdsale for an Ethereum network dice game for mobile devices. I was impressed by the concept, the white paper and the demo. Shortly afterwards, I discovered postings to Reddit and elsewhere that iDice was a “scam” to be avoided. My heart sank. There was no way to get my ETH back and even worse than Bernie Madoff’s Ponzi scheme there was no one to sue or even complain to about it. In the ICO world, it’s strictly buyer beware.

I watched as the crowdsale continued and prayed. Because I had mistakenly sent some of my investment in the ICO from my Coinbase account, I didn’t get all the tokens I’d paid for – a newbie error. So, I wrote to the email address provided in the promotion pages and to my pleasant surprise I soon got an email from Brandon Schmitz informing me that the tokens due me had been sent to my new MyEtherWallet. I was very pleased to get this and it caused me to question the whole “scam” narrative. Why would a scam have better user support than Coinbase?

Now that the crowdsale has ended, the tokens are tradable on EtherDelta and Mercatox and iDice is listed on CoinMarketCap coming in at a rank of 282 and a market cap of just over 1.5 million US dollars. I can download their app from the Apple app store and play the game on my phone. This is better proof of legitimacy than ICO’s promising services yet to be developed – of which there are many.

The posts asserting that iDice was a scam pointed to the fact that most of the articles appearing in the Cryptocurrency web sites were paid promotional articles. So, what else is a start-up supposed to do? Did iDice steal code from EtherRoll or another start-up? Where are the real complaints? Their code is open source and their data is publicly viewable.

iDice may prove to be a scam in the long run - look at how long it took to expose Madoff. For now, I’m hodling because I believe there’s a pretty good chance that it’s legit and I like their game.

In the ICO scene, your reputation is everything and yet any start-up is highly vulnerable to rumors posted where there is no consequence for publishing a false assertion. Yeah, I know this is the Wild West, but consider the fact that legit businesses can be crushed before they ever get started by malicious or even well-intentioned people expressing a doubt or spreading a rumor. Where’s the balance? Is it also a matter of start-up beware?

Sort:  

Seems like this turned out to be a scam . Although funds are still in a wallet! I wish they would do the right thing and refund everyone . There ethereum since they have also profited over 900 ethers on there site.

Congratulations @garywelz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey Gary -- Just wondering if you still hodl iDice? I got some in the ICO. Nothing much happening -- do you receive profit-sharing? [email protected]

No real information. I tried to bet on this website. It doesn't work. They still your money. Many people have this error.
Good luck to get your money back ! I mean you won't earn anything here.
They always lie. I'd be verry happy to receive house profit. It seems impossible.
Enjoy !


Any updates on this? I own a bunch of ICE tokens as well. I pretty much just made myself forget about the investment for several reasons.. one being that the whole thing may have been a scam.

Congratulations @garywelz! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @garywelz! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64693.66
ETH 2975.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70